NASA sees Tropical Depression Aere moving through South China Sea

NASA sees Tropical Depression Aere moving through South China Sea
NASA's Aqua satellite saw Tropical Depression Aere on Oct. 6 at 1:20 a.m. EDT (0520 UTC). The image showed strong thunderstorms around the center of circulation, but the center and in the northeastern quadrant. Credit: NASA / NRL

Tropical Depression Area, formerly known as 22W continued on a western track and entered the South China Sea as NASA's Aqua satellite captured a visible image of the storm.

The Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer (MODIS) on NASA's Aqua satellite captured a of Tropical Depression Aere on Oct. 6 at 1:20 a.m. EDT (0520 UTC). The image showed a symmetric storm with strong thunderstorms tightly wound around the center of circulation and in the northeastern quadrant.

At 11 a.m. EDT (1500 UTC) Tropical Depression Aere had maximum sustained winds near 34.5 mph (30 knots/55.5 kph). It was centered near 20.8 degrees north latitude and 118.7 degrees east longitude, about 27 nautical miles south of Hong Kong, China. Aere is moving to the northwest at 17 mph (15 knots/28 kph).

Tropical Depression Aere is forecast to become a and track to the west then west-southwest over the next several days and move through the South China Sea, staying south of Hainan Island, China.


Explore further

NASA sees Tropical Depression 22W form

Citation: NASA sees Tropical Depression Aere moving through South China Sea (2016, October 6) retrieved 8 December 2019 from https://phys.org/news/2016-10-nasa-tropical-depression-aere-south.html
This document is subject to copyright. Apart from any fair dealing for the purpose of private study or research, no part may be reproduced without the written permission. The content is provided for information purposes only.
0 shares

Feedback to editors

User comments