NASA sees Tropical Depression 22W form

NASA sees Tropical Depression 22W form
NASA's Aqua satellite saw Tropical Depression 22W on Oct. 5 at 12:35 a.m. EDT (0435 UTC). The image showed strong thunderstorms around the center of circulation, but the center appeared somewhat elongated. Credit: NASA / NRL

Tropical Depression 22W has formed northeast of the northern Philippines and NASA's Aqua satellite captured a visible image of the storm.

The Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer (MODIS) on NASA's Aqua satellite captured a of Tropical Depression 22W (TD22W) on Oct. 5 at 12:35 a.m. EDT (0435 UTC). The image showed strong thunderstorms around the center of circulation, but the center appeared somewhat elongated. That's because the storm is dealing with moderate vertical wind shear.

At 11 a.m. EDT (1500 UTC) Tropical Depression 22W had maximum sustained winds near 29 mph (25 knots/46 kph). It was centered near 19.7 degrees north latitude and 122.8 degrees east longitude, about 327 nautical miles north-northeast of Manila, Philippines. TD22W is moving to the northwest at 24 mph (21 knots/38 kph).

Tropical Depression 22W is forecast to track to the west-northwest over the next several days and its center is expected to move over and pass between Luzon, northern Philippines and Taiwan.


Explore further

NASA catches Tropical Depression 19W nearing Vietnam after formation

Citation: NASA sees Tropical Depression 22W form (2016, October 5) retrieved 24 January 2020 from https://phys.org/news/2016-10-nasa-tropical-depression-22w.html
This document is subject to copyright. Apart from any fair dealing for the purpose of private study or research, no part may be reproduced without the written permission. The content is provided for information purposes only.
0 shares

Feedback to editors

User comments