NASA sees Hurricane Kilo headed for International Date Line

NASA sees Hurricane Kilo headed for International Date Line
This infrared image from NOAA's GOES-West satellite shows Hurricane Kilo west of the Hawaiian Islands on August 31 at 8:00 a.m. EDT. Credit: NASA/NOAA GOES Project

NASA's Aqua and NOAA's GOES-West satellite saw Hurricane Kilo moving west in the Central Pacific Ocean as it neared the International Date Line.

The Atmospheric Infrared Sounder or AIRS instrument that flies aboard NASA's Aqua satellite gathers infrared data that reveals temperatures. When NASA's Aqua satellite passed over Kilo on August 30, the AIRS data and showed high, cold, strong thunderstorms surrounded the center of Hurricane Kilo, and had cloud top temperatures near -63F/-53C. NASA research has shown that thunderstorms with cloud tops that cold and high in the troposphere have the potential to generate heavy rainfall.

On August 31 at 8:00 a.m. EDT an infrared image from NOAA's GOES-West clearly showed that Hurricane Kilo maintained its eye.

At 11 a.m. EDT (1500 UTC/5 a.m. HST), the center of Hurricane Kilo was near latitude 21.5 north and longitude 179.3 west. That's about 480 miles (770 km) south-southwest of Midway Island. Kilo's maximum sustained winds were near 135 mph (215 kph). That means that Kilo is a category four hurricane on the Saffir-Simpson Hurricane wind scale. The Central Pacific Hurricane Center expects little change in intensity over the next two days.

Kilo is moving toward the north-northwest near 10 mph (17 kph) and is expected to continue in that direction for the next couple of days. CPHC noted that later today, August 31, Kilo may cross the International dateline into the Northwest Pacific Ocean.

NASA sees Hurricane Kilo headed for International Date Line
This false-colored infrared image from Aug. 30 at 13:35 UTC (9:35 a.m. EDT) shows there were high, cold, strong thunderstorms (purple) with cloud top temperatures in excess of -63F/-53C around the center of Hurricane Kilo. Credit: NASA JPL, Ed Olsen

For updated forecasts, visit NOAA's CPHC website: http://www.prh.noaa.gov/cphc.


Explore further

NASA sees comma shaped Tropical Storm Kilo

Citation: NASA sees Hurricane Kilo headed for International Date Line (2015, August 31) retrieved 15 December 2019 from https://phys.org/news/2015-08-nasa-hurricane-kilo-international-date.html
This document is subject to copyright. Apart from any fair dealing for the purpose of private study or research, no part may be reproduced without the written permission. The content is provided for information purposes only.
79 shares

Feedback to editors

User comments