NASA sees newborn Tropical Depression 12W near northeastern tip of Philippines

July 23, 2015, NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center
The AIRS infrared data from NASA's Aqua satellite showed a small area of TD12W's cloud top temperatures were again as cold as -63F/-53C on July 23. Credit: NASA JPL, Ed Olsen

When Tropical Depression 12W formed on the northeastern tip of the Philippines in the Luzon Region, NASA's Aqua satellite captured infrared data on the newborn storm.

The Atmospheric Infrared Sounder (AIRS) instrument that flies aboard NASA's Aqua satellite captured on Tropical Depression 12W. AIRS data showed some cloud top temperatures were as cold as -63F/-53C on July 23 at 5:17 UTC (1:17 a.m. EDT). Cloud top temperatures that cold have been shown to generate .

Tropical Depression 12W (TD12W) formed at 0900 UTC (5 a.m. EDT) on July 23 in the Philippine Sea, Northwestern Pacific Ocean. By 1500 UTC (11 a.m. EDT), the center was off-shore from Luzon near 17.7 North latitude and 123.3 East longitude. TD12W was moving away from the Philippines in a north-northeasterly direction at 3 knots (3.4 mph/5.5 kph). TD12W had maximum sustained winds near 25 knots (28.7 mph/46.3 kph).

There were no warnings posted in the Philippines as TD12W pulled away.

Forecasters at the Joint Typhoon Warning Center forecast 12W to move to the northeast and barely intensify before it becomes wrapped up in the circulation of Typhoon Halola (which is northeast of TD12W).

Explore further: NASA sees thunderstorms flaring up on Halola's eastern side

Related Stories

NASA sees Nangka become a typhoon

July 6, 2015

Tropical Storm Nangka strengthened to a typhoon in the Northwestern Pacific Ocean just after NASA's Aqua satellite passed overhead on July 6. Infrared data from the AIRS instrument showed very cold cloud top temperatures ...

NASA sees Typhoon Nangka strengthen

July 7, 2015

NASA's Aqua satellite passed over Typhoon Nangka on July 6 and took an infrared look at the large storm as it strengthened from a tropical storm into a typhoon.

Recommended for you

The long dry: global water supplies are shrinking

December 13, 2018

A global study has found a paradox: our water supplies are shrinking at the same time as climate change is generating more intense rain. And the culprit is the drying of soils, say researchers, pointing to a world where drought-like ...

New climate model to be built from the ground up

December 13, 2018

Facing the certainty of a changing climate coupled with the uncertainty that remains in predictions of how it will change, scientists and engineers from across the country are teaming up to build a new type of climate model ...

0 comments

Please sign in to add a comment. Registration is free, and takes less than a minute. Read more

Click here to reset your password.
Sign in to get notified via email when new comments are made.