Now a hurricane, Oli passing Bora Bora

Now a hurricane, Oli passing Bora Bora
NASA's Aqua satellite AIRS instrument captured the western half of Cyclone Oli on Feb. 3 at 12:17 UTC (7:17 a.m. ET). The area of purple in the middle of the storm indicates strong thunderstorms with cloud temperatures colder than -63F. Credit: NASA/JPL, Ed Olsen

Tropical cyclone Oli has attained hurricane strength today, February 3, with maximum sustained winds near 74 mph.

At 10 a.m. ET (1500 UTC), Oli was located approximately 200 nautical miles west-northwest of Bora Bora, near 15.9 South and 154.9 West. It was moving east at 14 mph (12 knots).

The Atmospheric Infrared Sounder instrument (AIRS) on NASA's Aqua satellite captured infrared images of Oli as it passed by early this morning.

showed that Oli has become better organized, thus its new hurricane status. Oli has well defined banding (arms of thunderstorms that wrap into the low level circulation center of the storm.

NASA and the Japanese Space Agency's Measuring Mission (TRMM) satellite, which measures rainfall from space, noticed an eye developing and deep convection has continued developing over the center of the storm.

Oli was kicking up waves 20 feet high in the open ocean.


Explore further

Tropical Storm Oli kicking up waves in south Pacific

Citation: Now a hurricane, Oli passing Bora Bora (2010, February 3) retrieved 22 October 2020 from https://phys.org/news/2010-02-hurricane-oli-bora.html
This document is subject to copyright. Apart from any fair dealing for the purpose of private study or research, no part may be reproduced without the written permission. The content is provided for information purposes only.
0 shares

Feedback to editors

User comments