Regret that email? Gmail gives users chance to call it back

Mar 20, 2009
The logo of web search engine Google is seen behing a computer keyboard. Google's Gmail now gives users a brief window to recall emails after they've been sent.

Just about everybody has sent an email, noticed a mistake as they hit the "send" button and wanted to call it back.

Google's now gives users a brief window to do just that.

An "Undo Send" feature introduced in Google's program holds a message for five seconds before sending it.

Gmail's sent mail now includes an "Undo" link. Clicking on "Undo" will return a message to its draft form.

The feature does not, however, allow a user to recall a message that's already been sent.

"It just holds your message for five seconds so you have a chance to hit the panic button," said in a post on Thursday on the official Gmail blog announcing the new feature.

Last year, Google introduced a feature to Gmail designed to prevent users from sending drunken emails. "Mail Goggles" forces users to solve five simple math problems in less than a minute in order to send a Gmail missive.

(c) 2009 AFP

Explore further: Wall Street Journal takes computers offline after hacking

add to favorites email to friend print save as pdf

Related Stories

Google drops Gmail name in U.K.

Oct 19, 2005

Gmail, the free e-mail service provided by search giant Google, changed its name to Google Mail for British users Wednesday after a trademark dispute.

Google leads in search, trails elsewhere

May 23, 2006

While recently released numbers show Google continuing to dominate the search-engine market, statistics from industry researchers Hitwise suggest other Google products and services have a way to go to catch ...

Recommended for you

Google made failed bid for Spotify

4 hours ago

Internet titan Google tried last year to buy streaming music service Spotify but backed off for reasons including a whopping price tag, the Wall Street Journal reported on Tuesday.

Thieves got into 1,000 StubHub accounts

5 hours ago

(AP)—Cyber thieves got into more than 1,000 StubHub customers' accounts and fraudulently bought tickets for events through the online ticket reseller, a law enforcement official and the company said.

Putin signs law seen as crimping social media

16 hours ago

President Vladimir Putin on Tuesday signed a law requiring Internet companies to store all personal data of Russian users at data centres in Russia, a move which could chill criticism on foreign social networking ...

User comments : 3

Adjust slider to filter visible comments by rank

Display comments: newest first

Szkeptik
5 / 5 (2) Mar 20, 2009
So it's basically a countdown timer. How the hell do these sorts of things make it onto a science page?
LuckyBrandon
not rated yet Mar 20, 2009
yea htis is just a retarded idea.; google is sinking their heads in their asses along with the rest of the technology companies i guess....waste of freakin time, if you cant recall the message, there is no point at all....
i mean hell, message recalls are an old ass basic email thing....should be rather simple to do really...
bhiestand
not rated yet Mar 20, 2009
yea htis is just a retarded idea.; google is sinking their heads in their asses along with the rest of the technology companies i guess....waste of freakin time, if you cant recall the message, there is no point at all....

i mean hell, message recalls are an old ass basic email thing....should be rather simple to do really...

That's a silly notion. Are you saying you've never ACCIDENTALLY hit the send button? I sure have... You can prevent that from putting up a confirmation window, but that's both horrid and frustrating. This is a far better way of implementing the same functionality... realize you shouldn't have sent it right as you were sending it? Stop it before it goes out. Didn't make any mistakes? Just keep doing what you were doing, you won't notice the 5 second delay.