NASA satellite catches birth of Tropical Storm Wali near Hawaii

Jul 18, 2014
When NASA's Terra satellite passed Tropical Depression 1C on July 17 at 3:55 p.m. EDT, the storm and it appeared somewhat elongated. Credit: NASA Goddard MODIS Rapid Response Team

The first tropical cyclone of the season has formed in the Central Pacific Ocean as NASA's Terra satellite passed overhead. Tropical Storm Wali formed southeast of the Big Island of Hawaii, and now that it's nearing, a Flash Flood Watch has been posted for all of the islands.

NASA's Terra satellite passed over Wali on July 17 at 19:55 UTC (3:55 p.m. EDT) just as it was being classified as Tropical Depression 1C. NOAA's Central Pacific Hurricane Center (CPHC) issued an advisory at 5 p.m. EDT (11 a.m. HST) announcing the birth of the depression near 12.7 north and 140.7 west with maximum sustained winds near 35 mph (55 kph). When NASA's Terra satellite passed overhead, the Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectrometer (MODIS) took a visible picture of the storm and it appeared somewhat elongated.

One hour after its birth as a (2200 UTC/6 p.m. EDT/12 p.m. HDT) Tropical Depression 1C became Tropical Storm Wali as maximum sustained winds ramped up to 45 mph (75 kph).

This video is not supported by your browser at this time.
his animation of infrared and visible imagery from NOAA's GOES-West satellite from July 15 to 18 shows the birth of Tropical Storm Wali southeast of the Big Island of Hawaii on July 17. Credit: NASA/NOAA GOES Project

On July 18 at 0900 UTC (5 a.m. EDT/July 17 at 11 p.m. HST/) Tropical Storm Wali's remained near 45 mph (75 kph), and the CPHC noted that slight strengthening is possible for the next day before a weakening trend begins. Wali was located near latitude 14.1 north, longitude 141.6 west, about 970 miles (1,565 km) east-southeast of Hilo, Hawaii. Wali was moving toward the northwest near 12 mph (19 kph) and CPHC expects Wali to continue in that direction until it makes a slight turn toward the west on Saturday. The estimated minimum central pressure is 1003 millibars.

The National Weather Service (NWS) in Honolulu issued a Flash Flood Watch for the Hawaiian Islands from Saturday night (July 19) through Monday (July 21). The NWS noted "deep tropical moisture combined with an upper level trough will bring the threat of heavy rain and thunderstorms from Saturday night through Monday. Enhanced showers will reach the windward Big Island and Maui Saturday night, and the rest of the state Sunday."

The CPHC expects Wali to maintain status until late Saturday, July 19, when it is expected to weaken to a depression. Increasing vertical wind shear, cooler sea surface temperatures and drier air that is expected to move into Wali are three factors that will contribute to weakening the storm as it approaches the Big Island. However, heavy rainfall is expected to affect the Hawaiian islands later this weekend as the current forecast track for Wali takes it on a path toward the Big Island of Hawaii late Sunday, July 20 or early Monday, July 21.

Explore further: NASA sees a weaker Tropical Storm Douglas

add to favorites email to friend print save as pdf

Related Stories

NASA sees a weaker Tropical Storm Douglas

Jul 02, 2014

NASA's Aqua satellite captured a picture of Tropical Storm Douglas as it began moving into cooler waters in the Eastern Pacific Ocean. Those cooler waters, coupled with drier air are expected to bring about ...

NASA sees rainfall in newborn Tropical Depression 8W

Jul 03, 2014

Powerful thunderstorms in some areas of newborn Tropical Depression 08W in the Northwestern Pacific Ocean were dropping heavy rainfall on July 3 as NASA's Tropical Rainfall Measuring Mission (TRMM) satellite ...

NASA sees Tropical Storm 9 over Guam

Jul 11, 2014

Guam and surrounding areas were under a Tropical Storm Warning and Watch on July 11 as NASA's Aqua satellite passed overhead. During the early morning hours on July 11, Tropical Depression 09W strengthened ...

Recommended for you

Geologists discover ancient buried canyon in South Tibet

15 hours ago

A team of researchers from Caltech and the China Earthquake Administration has discovered an ancient, deep canyon buried along the Yarlung Tsangpo River in south Tibet, north of the eastern end of the Himalayas. ...

User comments : 0

Please sign in to add a comment. Registration is free, and takes less than a minute. Read more

Click here to reset your password.
Sign in to get notified via email when new comments are made.