Satellite spots remnants of Ex-Tropical Cyclone Celia

Satellite spots remnants of Ex-Tropical Cyclone Celia
GOES-West captured an infrared image of Celia's remnant clouds at 1500 UTC (11 a.m. EDT). The image showed an open circulation with the bulk of clouds to the northeast of the low-level center. Credit: NASA/NOAA GOES Project

Tropical Cyclone Celia weakened to a remnant low pressure area. NOAA's GOES-West satellite provided an infrared look at the clouds associated with the low.

GOES-West captured an of Celia's remnant at 1500 UTC (11 a.m. EDT). The image showed an open circulation with the bulk of clouds to the northeast of the low-level center. NOAA manages the GOES series of satellites, and the NASA/NOAA GOES Project at NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center in Greenbelt, Maryland uses the data to create images and animations.

OAA's Central Pacific Hurricane Center said that a surface low, the remnant of ex-Tropical Cyclone Celia, was centered about 300 miles northeast of Honolulu on July 18 at 1:50 a.m. HST (7:50 a.m. EDT). The remnant low pressure area was moving to the west at 10 mph.

Atmospheric conditions are not conducive for tropical cyclone redevelopment. The chance for development is near zero over the next two days.


Explore further

NASA satellites see weaker Tropical Storm Celia move into central Pacific

Citation: Satellite spots remnants of Ex-Tropical Cyclone Celia (2016, July 18) retrieved 20 September 2019 from https://phys.org/news/2016-07-satellite-remnants-ex-tropical-cyclone-celia.html
This document is subject to copyright. Apart from any fair dealing for the purpose of private study or research, no part may be reproduced without the written permission. The content is provided for information purposes only.
7 shares

Feedback to editors

User comments

Please sign in to add a comment. Registration is free, and takes less than a minute. Read more