Tropical Storm Ula weakens, moves south

Tropical Storm Ula weakens, moves south
This image from NOAA's GOES-West satellite on Jan. 5 at 1500 UTC (10 a.m. EST) shows Tropical Storm Ula in the South Pacific Ocean south of Fiji. Credit: NASA/NOAA GOES Project

Former hurricane Ula has weakened to a tropical storm in the Southern Pacific Ocean. NOAA's GOES-West satellite captured an infrared image of the storm on Jan. 5 that showed it moved further south of Fiji.

NOAA's GOES-West satellite captured an infrared image of Tropical Storm Ula at 1500 UTC (10 a.m. EST) is it continued moving west in the South Pacific Ocean, while remaining a couple hundred miles south of Fiji. The showed stronger thunderstorms on the western side of circulation.

At 0900 UTC (4 a.m. EST) on Jan. 5, Ula's maximum sustained winds had dropped to 55 knots (63.2 mph/101.9 kph). Ula continues to track to the west at 3 knots (3.4 mph/5.5 kph) and into increasing , which is expected to keep weakening the storm. Ula was centered near 21.8 degrees south latitude and 177.6 degrees east longitude, about 227 nautical miles (261.2 miles/420.4 km) south of Suva, Fiji.

Ula is tracking west under the influence of a low to mid-level subtropical ridge (elongated area) of high pressure to the south of the system.

The Joint Typhoon Warning Center forecast calls for Ula to continue moving in a westerly direction and gradually weaken and dissipate within a couple of days.


Explore further

Satellite captures birth of South Pacific Tropical Cyclone Ula

Citation: Tropical Storm Ula weakens, moves south (2016, January 5) retrieved 20 February 2020 from https://phys.org/news/2016-01-tropical-storm-ula-weakens-south.html
This document is subject to copyright. Apart from any fair dealing for the purpose of private study or research, no part may be reproduced without the written permission. The content is provided for information purposes only.
5 shares

Feedback to editors

User comments