Satellite sees the end of Tropical Depression 11E

August 18, 2015, NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center
The circulation center of the remnant low pressure area was difficult to find in the GOES-West infrared image taken at 12:45 UTC (8:45 a.m. EDT). Credit: NASA/NOAA GOES Project

Tropical Depression 11E came to an end early today, Tuesday, August 18 when the National Hurricane Center noted that the storm degenerated into a remnant low pressure area. NOAA's GOES-West satellite caught an infrared image of the fizzling system.

At 5 a.m. EDT (2 a.m. PDT/0900 UTC) the National Hurricane Center (NHC) issued the final bulletin on Post-Tropical depression 11E. At that time, the center of Post-Tropical cyclone 11E was located near latitude 24.9 North and longitude 125.6 West. It had fizzled about 1,000 miles (1,610 km) west of the southern tip of Baja California, Mexico. Maximum sustained winds were near 30 mph (45 kph). The post-tropical cyclone is moving toward the northwest near 16 mph (26 kph). The estimated minimum central pressure is 1005 millibars.

After the final bulletin by the NHC, the depression degenerated into a remnant low pressure area. The circulation center of the remnant low pressure area was difficult to find in the GOES-West taken at 12:45 UTC (8:45 a.m. EDT).

For additional information on the remnant low see high seas forecasts issued by the National Weather Service.

Explore further: Satellite sees short-lived Tropical Depression 11E

Related Stories

Satellite sees short-lived Tropical Depression 11E

August 17, 2015

Tropical Depression 11-E appears to be short-lived as a result of strong vertical wind shear. A recent satellite image showed the clouds associated with the depression were being pushed northwest of the center.

Recommended for you

Nanoscale Lamb wave-driven motors in nonliquid environments

March 19, 2019

Light driven movement is challenging in nonliquid environments as micro-sized objects can experience strong dry adhesion to contact surfaces and resist movement. In a recent study, Jinsheng Lu and co-workers at the College ...

OSIRIS-REx reveals asteroid Bennu has big surprises

March 19, 2019

A NASA spacecraft that will return a sample of a near-Earth asteroid named Bennu to Earth in 2023 made the first-ever close-up observations of particle plumes erupting from an asteroid's surface. Bennu also revealed itself ...

The powerful meteor that no one saw (except satellites)

March 19, 2019

At precisely 11:48 am on December 18, 2018, a large space rock heading straight for Earth at a speed of 19 miles per second exploded into a vast ball of fire as it entered the atmosphere, 15.9 miles above the Bering Sea.

0 comments

Please sign in to add a comment. Registration is free, and takes less than a minute. Read more

Click here to reset your password.
Sign in to get notified via email when new comments are made.