The photo tag is back on Facebook

Feb 27, 2013 by Scott Kleinberg And Amy Guth

Tagging photos is hardly new on Facebook. In 2012, Facebook temporarily suspended the feature to make what it called technical improvements. This may or may not have had something to do with the outcry from privacy advocates and lawmakers both in the U.S. and Europe.

re-enabled this feature on Jan. 31, reminding us that "this is the same feature that millions of people previously used to help them quickly share billions of photos with friends and family."

As far as features go, it works pretty well. Sometimes it's a little bit creepy how good Facebook is at recognizing our . If you're a fan of complete in all of your photo albums, you'll appreciate having the back. But if you worry about privacy, there's something you should know: The feature is enabled by default. The only are "friends and "no one," but you should at least be aware of this very important setting.

Even enabled, no one is tagged automatically. Facebook is very clear in explaining that when a photo that looks like you is uploaded, a tag is suggested. The idea is to save time, not to violate anyone's privacy.

But you can opt out, and in my opinion you should. Here's how:

- Click on the gear icon at the top of your Facebook profile.

- Choose Account Settings.

- On the left side of the page, choose Timeline and Tagging.

- You should see three sections. Under the third one, titled "How can I manage tags people add and tagging suggestions?", the last selection is called, "Who sees tag suggestions when photos that look like you are uploaded?" You can change that option from friends to no one. (Note that if you did this when the feature was previously enabled, your choice may still be there. But it's worth checking.)

If being tagged in a photo doesn't concern you, it is acceptable to leave it on the default setting - especially since Facebook will always notify you first. But those notifications can add up, and you don't want to approve something you'll regret.

Facebook's privacy settings have improved drastically over the past several years, but I still wish it was easier to find them. This type of change is a good reminder that you should be aware of the choices and selections in the privacy and account settings. Case in point, this particular change strikes me more as privacy, but the menu isn't under privacy settings. I recommend revisiting the settings under account and privacy once a month.

Explore further: IBM dips into Twitter stream for business insights

5 /5 (1 vote)
add to favorites email to friend print save as pdf

Related Stories

Facebook to suggest friends to tag in users photos

Dec 16, 2010

(AP) -- Facebook will try to make it easier to identify friends in photos uploaded to the social networking site by using facial recognition software to suggest people that users may want to tag.

Recommended for you

HTML5 reaches 'Recommendation' status

20 hours ago

W3C stands for World Wide Web Consortium, and the W3C HTML Working Group is responsible for this specification's progress. As the title suggests, they have a far-reaching job of watching out for the progress ...

Online dating service admits to fake profiles

23 hours ago

A British-based online dating service admitted to US regulators Wednesday that it created fake, computer-generated profiles to lure users into upgraded memberships.

NY voters to decide on digital legislation

Oct 28, 2014

If New York voters approve proposition No. 2 on the ballot next week, their 213 legislators will join the digital age. Their desks in the ornate chambers of the Capitol will have computers instead of thick stacks of bills ...

User comments : 0

Please sign in to add a comment. Registration is free, and takes less than a minute. Read more

Click here to reset your password.
Sign in to get notified via email when new comments are made.