NASA's Aqua satellite sees Tropical Depression 01W ending near Southern Vietnam

NASA's Aqua satellite sees Tropical Depression 01W ending near Southern Vietnam
NASA's Aqua satellite provided a visible-light image of Tropical Depression 01W and showed that it was disorganized on Jan. 16 at 0620 UTC (1:20 a.m. EST). Credit: NASA

NASA's Aqua satellite provided a visible-light image of Tropical Depression 01W as it headed toward southern Vietnam for a brief landfall on January 16. By January 17 the depression had dissipated.

The Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer aboard NASA's Aqua satellite provided a visible-light image of Tropical Depression 01W and showed that it was disorganized on Jan. 16 at 0620 UTC (1:20 a.m. EST).

On Jan. 16 at 0300 UTC (Jan. 15 10 p.m. EST) the Joint Typhoon Warning Center (JTWC) reported that were near 25 knots (28.7 mph/46/3 kph). It was centered near 9.0 degrees north latitude and 106.2 degrees east longitude, 112 nautical miles south-southeast of Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam, has tracked westward at 8 knots (92. Mph/14.8 kph).

The JTWC said "Animated multispectral satellite imagery depicts a decaying, fully-exposed, low-level circulation center with no deep convection."

Tropical Depression 01W made a brief landfall over the southern tip of Vietnam around 10 a.m. EST (1500 UTC) on Jan. 16 and then dissipated in the Gulf of Thailand by January 17.


Explore further

NASA's Aqua Satellite sees Tropical Depression Kujira at landfall

Citation: NASA's Aqua satellite sees Tropical Depression 01W ending near Southern Vietnam (2017, January 17) retrieved 14 November 2019 from https://phys.org/news/2017-01-nasa-aqua-satellite-tropical-depression.html
This document is subject to copyright. Apart from any fair dealing for the purpose of private study or research, no part may be reproduced without the written permission. The content is provided for information purposes only.
3 shares

Feedback to editors

User comments