NASA catches Tropical Depression Sarika's landfall

NASA catches Tropical Depression Sarika's landfall
On Oct. 19 at 1:35 a.m. EDT (05:35 UTC) NASA-NOAA's Suomi NPP satellite captured Tropical Depression Sarika making landfall in mainland China. Credit: NOAA/NASA Goddard MODIS Rapid Response Team

Tropical Depression Sarika made landfall early on Oct. 19 as NASA-NOAA's Suomi NPP satellite passed overhead and provided an image of the storm.

On Oct. 19 at 1:35 a.m. EDT (05:35 UTC) the Visible Infrared Imaging Radiometer Suite (VIIRS) instrument aboard the NASA-NOAA Suomi NPP satellite captured Tropical Depression Sarika making in southern part of the Guangxi province of mainland China, near the border of Vietnam.

At 5 a.m. EDT (0900 UTC) on Oct. 19 the Joint Typhoon Warning Center (JTWC) issued their final bulletin on Sarika. At that time, Sarika's maximum sustained winds were near 34.5 mph (30 knots /55.5 kph). It was moving to the north-northwest at 8 mph (7 knots/13 kph). At that time, the center of the depression was about 130 nautical miles east-northeast of Hanoi, Vietnam near 21.7 degrees north latitude and 108.1 degrees east longitude.

Sarika is expected to dissipate over land, however, there is a slight chance its remnants may reemerge over the Gulf of Tonkin.


Explore further

NASA sees Typhoon Sarika approaching second landfall

Citation: NASA catches Tropical Depression Sarika's landfall (2016, October 19) retrieved 22 September 2019 from https://phys.org/news/2016-10-nasa-tropical-depression-sarika-landfall.html
This document is subject to copyright. Apart from any fair dealing for the purpose of private study or research, no part may be reproduced without the written permission. The content is provided for information purposes only.
0 shares

Feedback to editors

User comments

Please sign in to add a comment. Registration is free, and takes less than a minute. Read more