Terra Satellite sees Tropical Storm Ana over Hawaii

NASA's Terra Satellite sees Tropical Storm Ana over Hawaii
NASA's Terra satellite captured this image of Tropical Storm Ana blanketing the Hawaiian Islands on Oct. 19 at 21:45 UTC (5:45 p.m. EDT). Credit: NASA Goddard MODIS Rapid Response Team

Tropical Storm Ana made a slow track west of the Hawaiian islands over the last couple of days, and by Oct. 20 was moving westward away from the main Hawaiian islands and heading toward the northwest Hawaiian islands. NASA's Terra satellite caught Ana on a flyby on Oct. 19 that showed the storm's clouds blanketing the chain of islands.

The Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer aboard NASA's Terra satellite captured a visible picture of Tropical Storm Ana blanketing the Hawaiian Islands on Oct. 19 at 21:45 UTC (5:45 p.m. EDT). At the time, the strongest thunderstorms appeared to be in the eastern and western quadrants of the storm.

On Monday, Oct. 20, a tropical storm warning was in effect for portions of the Papahanaumokuakea Marine National Monument, from Nihoa to French Frigate Shoals. A hurricane watch was in effect for portions of the Papahanaumokuakea Marine National Monument, from Nihoa to Maro Reef.

At 8 a.m. EDT (2 a.m. HST/1200 UTC) Tropical Storm Ana was just below hurricane strength with near 70 mph (110 kph). NOAA's Central Pacific Hurricane Center (CPHC) expects weakening today, but intensification on Oct. 20. The center of Ana was located near latitude 20.6 north and longitude 162.6 west. That puts the center of Ana about 225 miles (360 km) west-southwest of Lihue Hawaii and about 325 miles (525 km) southeast of French Frigate Shoals. Ana is moving toward the west near 9 mph (15 kph) and is expected to gradually turn to the northwest.

For updates on warnings and local conditions, please visit NOAA's CPHC website: http://www.prh.noaa.gov.

This video shows the movement of Tropical Storm Ana near the Hawaiian Islands from Oct. 17-20. Credit: NASA/NOAA GOES Project

Explore further

NASA's Aqua satellite watches Tropical Storm Ana intensifying

Citation: Terra Satellite sees Tropical Storm Ana over Hawaii (2014, October 20) retrieved 13 October 2019 from https://phys.org/news/2014-10-terra-satellite-tropical-storm-ana.html
This document is subject to copyright. Apart from any fair dealing for the purpose of private study or research, no part may be reproduced without the written permission. The content is provided for information purposes only.
0 shares

Feedback to editors

User comments

Please sign in to add a comment. Registration is free, and takes less than a minute. Read more