Terra satellite spots record-breaking Hurricane Pali

January 12, 2016
On Jan. 11 at 22:30 UTC (5:30 p.m. EST) the MODIS instrument aboard NASA's Terra satellite captured this visible image of Tropical Storm Pali as it was becoming an early record-breaking hurricane in the Central Pacific Ocean. Credit: NASA Goddard MODIS Rapid Response

Shortly after NASA's Terra satellite passed over Tropical Storm Pali it strengthened into a record-breaking hurricane.

On Jan. 11 at 22:30 UTC (5:30 p.m. EST) the MODIS instrument aboard NASA's Terra satellite captured a visible image of strengthening Tropical Storm Pali in the Central Pacific Ocean. On Jan. 11 at 10 p.m. EST (5 p.m. HST/Jan 12 at 0300 UTC) Pali became the earliest on record in the central Pacific basin far to the southwest of Hawaii. In the MODIS image, Pali's eye was visible surrounded by a strong circle of thunderstorms and a thick band of thunderstorms spiraled into the low level center from the western quadrant.

NOAA's Central Pacific Hurricane Center forecaster Wroe noted "after exhibiting a rather well defined eye through the evening...a recent burst of deep convection around the center of Hurricane Pali has caused the eye to become cloud filled...likely due to southwesterly vertical of around 15 knots."

On Jan. 12 at 10 a.m. EST (5 a.m. HST/1500 UTC) the center of Hurricane Pali was located near latitude 6.8 north and longitude 171.4 west. That's about 695 miles (1,120 km) south of Johnston Island and 1,345 miles (2,170 km) southwest of Honolulu, Hawaii. Maximum sustained winds are near 90 mph (150 kph). Slow weakening is expected through Thursday morning, Jan. 14. The estimated minimum central pressure is 979 millibars. Pali was moving toward the south near 7 mph and is expected to gradually turn to the southwest.

CPHC said that although Pali will remain over warm sea surface temperatures of 28 to 29 Celsius (82.4 to 84.2 Fahrenheit) along the forecast track...ships indicates a modest Increase in wind shear that could produce some weakening during the next couple of days as it moves toward the equator. For updated forecasts, visit: http://www.prh.noaa.gov/cphc.

Explore further: Unusual Tropical Storm Pali still thriving far from Hawaii

Related Stories

Unusual Tropical Storm Pali still thriving far from Hawaii

January 11, 2016

Tropical Storm Pali, an out-of-season storm for the Central Pacific Ocean, continues to thrive about 8 degrees latitude north of the Equator. A recent infrared image from the GOES-West satellite showed that Pali a small cyclone.

NASA investigates Tropical Storm Pali's temperatures, winds

January 8, 2016

The Central Pacific Ocean's out-of-season tropical depression has strengthened into a tropical storm and has been renamed Pali. NASA's RapidScat instrument and Terra satellite gathered wind and temperature data on the unusual ...

Late-season Central Pacific tropical depression forms

January 1, 2016

Tropical Depression 9C formed in the Central Pacific, 30 days after the official end to the Central Pacific Hurricane Season. An image from NOAA's GOES-West satellite revealed the late-season tropical depression was still ...

NASA sees Tropical Cyclone Ula's eye closing

January 11, 2016

NASA satellite imagery showed that Tropical Cyclone Ula's eye appeared to be "closing" as clouds began filling it. Meanwhile New Caledonia remained on alert as the powerful storm continued moving away.

NASA analyzes Tropical Storm Ula's winds

January 7, 2016

Tropical Storm Ula continued to weaken as it pulled farther away from Fiji in the Southern Pacific Ocean. NASA's RapidScat instrument found that the strongest winds in the storm were south of the center. NOAA's GOES-West ...

Recommended for you

Entire Himalayan arc can produce large earthquakes

October 26, 2016

The main fault at the foot of the Himalayan mountains can likely generate destructive, major earthquakes along its entire 2,400-kilometer (1,500-mile) length, a new study finds. Combining historical documents with new geologic ...


Please sign in to add a comment. Registration is free, and takes less than a minute. Read more

Click here to reset your password.
Sign in to get notified via email when new comments are made.