Satellite sees extra-Tropical Cyclone Trami moving past Japan

Satellite sees extra-Tropical Cyclone Trami moving past Japan
On Oct. 1 at 11:54 p.m. EDT (Sept. 30 at 0354 UTC) the VIIRS instrument aboard NOAA's NOAA-20 polar orbiting satellite provided a visible image of Trami. The imagery showed the storm's circulation had eroded quickly and was being blown apart by winds. On Oct. 1, Trami passed Hokkaido and had become extra-tropical. Credit: NOAA/NRL

NOAA's NOAA-20 satellite captured a visible image of Typhoon Trami on Oct. 1 after it had become extra-tropical and moved away from Japan.

At 11 a.m. EDT (1500 UTC) on Sunday, Sept. 30, the Joint Typhoon Warning Center issued the final advisory on the system. At that time, Typhoon Trami was located about 157 miles west-southwest of Camp Fuji, Japan and moving northeast at 28 (32 mph/52 kph). Maximum sustained winds were near 75 knots (86 mph/139 kph). Trami was weakening rapidly and becoming extra-tropical as it tracked very rapidly over Honshu.

On Oct. 1 at 11:54 p.m. EDT (Sept. 30 at 0354 UTC) the VIIRS instrument aboard NOAA's NOAA-20 polar orbiting satellite provided a of Trami. The imagery showed the storm's circulation had eroded quickly and was being blown apart by winds. By Oct. 1, Trami passed Hokkaido and had become extra-tropical.


Explore further

NASA-NOAA satellite looks into Typhoon Trami's ragged eye

Citation: Satellite sees extra-Tropical Cyclone Trami moving past Japan (2018, October 1) retrieved 25 September 2020 from https://phys.org/news/2018-10-satellite-extra-tropical-cyclone-trami-japan.html
This document is subject to copyright. Apart from any fair dealing for the purpose of private study or research, no part may be reproduced without the written permission. The content is provided for information purposes only.
2 shares

Feedback to editors

User comments