Russia launches ISS-bound cargo ship

July 17, 2016

A Russian rocket carrying an unmanned cargo ship blasted off for the International Space Station early Sunday from the Baikonur cosmodrome in Kazakhstan, the Russian space agency said.

The Soyuz rocket carrying the Progress MS-03 ship was launched on schedule at 00:41 Moscow time (21:41 GMT Saturday) and began a two-day journey to the ISS, the Roscosmos space agency said on its website.

The ship is carrying more than 2.4 tonnes of fuel, air, oxygen, food and equipment for the crew on the international space laboratory.

It is due to dock at 03:22 Moscow time (00:22 GMT) on Tuesday.

A Progress cargo ship launch failed in April 2015. Since then there have been two successful dockings of such ships.

The ISS is currently manned by Kathleen Rubins of NASA, Takuya Onishi of the Japanese , Jeff Williams of NASA and Russian cosmonauts Oleg Skripochka, Alexey Ovchinin and Anatoly Ivanishin.

Explore further: Russian, American, Japanese astronauts board space station

Related Stories

Russia launches cargo ship to ISS

April 9, 2014

Russia successfully launched an unmanned cargo ship to the International Space Station on Wednesday evening after a spaceship carrying three astronauts experienced a technical glitch last month.

Recommended for you

Dawn of a galactic collision

December 14, 2017

A riot of colour and light dances through this peculiarly shaped galaxy, NGC 5256. Its smoke-like plumes are flung out in all directions and the bright core illuminates the chaotic regions of gas and dust swirling through ...

0 comments

Please sign in to add a comment. Registration is free, and takes less than a minute. Read more

Click here to reset your password.
Sign in to get notified via email when new comments are made.