Google protects Gmail users from sending regrettable notes

gmail

Google is making it easier to steer clear of the trouble that can be caused by a misdirected or inappropriate email.

An option to cancel the delivery of an email within 30 seconds of hitting the send button is now a standard safeguard in Google's Gmail as part of a settings change made this week.

The "undo send" feature had already been available for the past six years in Google's experimental labs, but that required Gmail users taking extra steps to get it.

Gmail accountholders will now be able to activate the protection in Gmail's settings. The tool delays the delivery of emails from five to 30 seconds after the send button is pressed to give users a fleeting chance to retrieve an email mistakenly sent to the wrong person or an ill-conceived communique.

Google inserted the "undo send" feature last month into an email management application called "Inbox" designed for mobile devices.

Gmail, started 11 years ago, is the far more popular email service. It now boasts more than 900 million accountholders worldwide, according to statistics that Google released last month.


Explore further

Google offers mail payment service in the UK

© 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.

Citation: Google protects Gmail users from sending regrettable notes (2015, June 23) retrieved 21 November 2019 from https://phys.org/news/2015-06-google-gmail-users-regrettable.html
This document is subject to copyright. Apart from any fair dealing for the purpose of private study or research, no part may be reproduced without the written permission. The content is provided for information purposes only.
21 shares

Feedback to editors

User comments