Russia launches navigation satellite

Russia on Monday successfully launched a satellite for its Glonass global navigation system
A Proton-M rocket, carrying the Russian Glonass-M satellites, blasts off from the Russian-leased Baikonur cosmodrome in Kazakhstan in 2010. Russia on Monday successfully launched a satellite for its Glonass global navigation system the country's space agency said.

Russia on Monday successfully launched a satellite for its Glonass global navigation system from its Plesetsk cosmodrome, the country's space agency said.

"The Glonass-M spacecraft separated normally from the booster rocket at 15:57 Moscow time (1157 GMT) and was taken under control," the Roskosmos space agency said in a statement.

The satellite on a Soyuz 2.1B booster rocket blasted off from the northern cosmodrome at 12:25 Moscow time (0825 GMT).

The launch means there are now 23 functioning Glonass satellites in orbit, Roskosmos said. The aims to rival the United States' GPS system. In a surprising coup, it is used alongside GPS on the latest iPhone.

Launches of are being closely followed after three of the craft, which would have completed the system, failed to reach orbit and crashed into the Pacific Ocean in December 2010 because of a problem with the booster rocket.


Explore further

Russia launches navigation satellites

(c) 2011 AFP

Citation: Russia launches navigation satellite (2011, November 28) retrieved 7 August 2020 from https://phys.org/news/2011-11-russia-satellite.html
This document is subject to copyright. Apart from any fair dealing for the purpose of private study or research, no part may be reproduced without the written permission. The content is provided for information purposes only.
0 shares

Feedback to editors

User comments