Asteroid 2012 TC4 to buzz Earth on October 12

Asteroid 2012 TC4 to buzz Earth on October 12
Asteroid 2012 TC4 as seen by the Remanzacco Observatory team of Ernesto Guido, Giovanni Sostero, Nick Howes on Oct. 9, 2012.

Asteroid 2012 TC4 will give Earth a relatively close shave on October 12, 2012, passing at just a quarter of the distance to the orbit of the Moon. Discovered by Pan-STARRS observatory in Hawaii just last week on October 4, 2012, and it will pass by at about 88,000 kilometers (59,000 miles) away. Estimates on the size of this space rock vary from 17 to 30 meters, but NASA has indicated they will have telescopes trained on the asteroid as it makes its near Earth flyby—closest approach is just before 06:00 UTC (2:00 a.m. EDT) on Friday. Radar measurements can provide more details on the asteroid's size and orbital characteristics.

NASA's Asteroid Watch has assured there is no chance this asteroid will hit Earth.

The Slooh is providing live coverage at Slooh.com, free to the public, starting at 2:30 p.m. PDT / 5:30 p.m. EDT / 21:30 UTC—accompanied by real-time discussions with Slooh President, Patrick Paolucci; Slooh Outreach Coordinator, Paul Cox; and Astronomy Magazine columnist, Bob Berman.

Viewers are in for a special treat as asteroid TC4 will be in the same field of view as the during Slooh's live coverage.

This asteroid will reach the magnitude 13.7 on October 12 around 02:00 UTC, according to the Remanzacco Observatory team of Ernesto Guido, Giovanni Sostero, Nick Howes.

You can see an animation of Remanzacco's observations here.

A view of the orbital parameters of asteroid 2012 TC4 from JPL.


Explore further

Big and Bright Asteroid to Pass by Earth June 14

Source: Universe Today
Citation: Asteroid 2012 TC4 to buzz Earth on October 12 (2012, October 12) retrieved 16 June 2019 from https://phys.org/news/2012-10-asteroid-tc4-earth-october.html
This document is subject to copyright. Apart from any fair dealing for the purpose of private study or research, no part may be reproduced without the written permission. The content is provided for information purposes only.
0 shares

Feedback to editors

User comments

Oct 13, 2012
I thought I felt something fly by...

Please sign in to add a comment. Registration is free, and takes less than a minute. Read more