NASA sees Damrey strengthen into a typhoon

NASA sees Damrey strengthen into a typhoon
On Nov 3, 2017 at 1:06 a.m. EDT (0506 UTC) the VIIRS instrument aboard NASA-NOAA's Suomi NPP satellite captured this visible image of Typhoon Damrey over Vietnam. Credit: NOAA/NASA Rapid Response Team

NASA's Aqua satellite and the NASA-NOAA Suomi NPP satellite provided imagery of Damrey as it strengthened into a typhoon in the South China Sea.

The Atmospheric Infrared Sounder or AIRS instrument aboard NASA's Aqua satellite captured temperature data of Typhoon Damrey's clouds on Nov. 2 at 1811 UTC (2:11 p.m. EDT). AIRS found that coldest were as cold as or colder than minus 63 degrees Fahrenheit or minus 53 degrees Celsius which are indicative of strong storms. NASA research has shown that storms with cloud tops that cold have the capability to generate heavy rainfall.

On Nov 3, 2017 at 1:06 a.m. EDT (0506 UTC) the VIIRS instrument aboard NASA-NOAA's Suomi NPP satellite captured a visible image of Typhoon Damrey approaching Vietnam. The image revealed spiral bands of thunderstorms surrounding the low-level center and the hint of an eye.

Damrey is in a favorable area for strengthening with low and is tracking through and area of warm sea surface temperatures.

By 5 a.m. EDT (0900 UTC), Damrey's maximum sustained winds were near 75 knots (86 mph/139 kph). The Joint Typhoon Warning Center expects Damrey's winds to strengthen slightly before it starts to weaken from interaction with land. The center was located near 12.7 degrees north latitude and 112.3 east longitude. That's about 328 nautical miles southeast of Da Nang, Vietnam. Damrey was moving to the west at 8 knots (9.2 mph/14.8 kph).

The Joint Typhoon Warning Center forecast calls for Damrey to make landfall in southeastern Vietnam as a typhoon on Nov. 3 and track west across southern Laos and northern Cambodia, Thailand and southern Burma by Nov. 6.

NASA sees Damrey strengthen into a typhoon
The AIRS instrument aboard NASA's Aqua satellite captured temperature data of Typhoon Damrey's clouds on Nov. 2 at 1811 UTC (2:11 p.m. EDT). Coldest cloud tops (purple) were as cold as or colder than -63F (-53C). Credit: NASA JPL, Ed Olsen

Explore further

NASA spots Tropical Storm Damrey headed west in South China Sea

Citation: NASA sees Damrey strengthen into a typhoon (2017, November 3) retrieved 20 June 2019 from https://phys.org/news/2017-11-nasa-damrey-typhoon.html
This document is subject to copyright. Apart from any fair dealing for the purpose of private study or research, no part may be reproduced without the written permission. The content is provided for information purposes only.
351 shares

Feedback to editors

User comments

Please sign in to add a comment. Registration is free, and takes less than a minute. Read more