Video: Satellite views of severe storm that generated Michoud tornado

This animation of infrared and visible imagery from NOAA's GOES-East satellite from Feb. 6 to Feb. 7 at 2115 UTC (4:15 p.m EST) shows the severe weather system that spawned a tornado that affected NASA's Michoud Assembly Facility near New Orleans. You can see the system as a sideways wedge shaped ("V") cloud on Tuesday, Feb. 7 around 1725 UTC (11:25 a.m. CST).

For photos and additional video: www.nasa.gov/press-release/tor … ud-assembly-facility

For more information about Michoud and future updates, visit: www.nasa.gov/michoud

Credit: NASA/NOAA GOES Project

Explore further

Video: Massive rocket fuel tank built in a minute

Provided by NASA
Citation: Video: Satellite views of severe storm that generated Michoud tornado (2017, February 9) retrieved 29 October 2020 from https://phys.org/news/2017-02-video-satellite-views-severe-storm.html
This document is subject to copyright. Apart from any fair dealing for the purpose of private study or research, no part may be reproduced without the written permission. The content is provided for information purposes only.
8 shares

Feedback to editors

User comments