NASA follows Hurricane Orlene in the Eastern Pacific

September 12, 2016, NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center
At 5: p.m. EDT (2100 UTC) on Sept. 11, NASA-NOAA's Suomi NPP satellite captured an image of Hurricane Orlene in the Eastern Pacific Ocean. Credit: NASA Goddard Rapid Response Team

The sixteenth tropical depression of the Eastern Pacific Ocean Hurricane Season formed on Saturday, Sept. 10 at 11 p.m. EDT and became a hurricane named Orlene early on Sept. 12. NASA-NOAA's Suomi NPP satellite captured an image of the strengthening storm.

At 5:00 p.m. EDT (2100 UTC) on Sept. 11, 2016, NASA-NOAA's Suomi NPP satellite passed over Orlene when it was a strong tropical storm. The Visible Infrared Imaging Radiometer Suite (VIIRS) instrument aboard the satellite captured a of the storm.

Using the Suomi NPP imagery and other satellite data, the National Hurricane Center noted "visible, infrared, and microwave images indicate that Orlene continues to become more organized. The cyclone has well-defined curved bands, and a recent SSMIS image showed that it has a mid-level eye feature."

At 5 a.m. EDT (2 a.m. PDT/0900 UTC), the center of Hurricane Orlene was located near 17.1 degrees north latitude and 119.1 degrees west longitude.

The National Hurricane Center (NHC) said that Orlene is moving toward the northwest near 9 mph (15 kph). A turn toward the north-northwest and then north with a significant decrease in forward speed is expected during the next couple of days. Maximum sustained winds have increased to near 80 mph (130 kph) with higher gusts. Additional strengthening is forecast during the next day or so.

For additional updates on Orlene, visit the NHC website: http://www.nhc.noaa.gov.

Explore further: NASA witnesses Atlantic's Tropical Storm Gaston coming together

Related Stories

NASA spies major Hurricane Georgette

July 25, 2016

Hurricane Georgette is a major hurricane in the Eastern Pacific Ocean. NASA-NOAA's Suomi NPP satellite provided a visible image of the powerful storm that showed a clear eye.

Recommended for you

Glacier depth affects plankton blooms off Greenland

August 15, 2018

The unusual timing of highly productive summer plankton blooms off Greenland indicates a connection between increasing amounts of meltwater and nutrients in these coastal waters. In a new study published today in the international ...

When viruses infect phytoplankton, it can change the clouds

August 15, 2018

Microscopic plant-like organisms called phytoplankton are known to support the diversity of life in the ocean. Scientists in Israel now report that one species, Emiliania huxleyi, and a virus closely associated with it, might ...

0 comments

Please sign in to add a comment. Registration is free, and takes less than a minute. Read more

Click here to reset your password.
Sign in to get notified via email when new comments are made.