Tropical Storm Dolphin threatening Micronesia

Tropical Storm Dolphin threatening Micronesia
The MODIS instrument on Aqua captured this image of Tropical Storm Dolphin on May 10, 2015 over the Federated States of Micronesia. Credit: NASA Goddard MODIS Rapid Response Team

The MODIS instrument on the Aqua satellite captured this image of Tropical Storm Dolphin riding roughshod over the Federated States of Micronesia. Dolphin strengthened to tropical storm status between Bulletin 272 and 273 (1620 GMT and 2200 GMT) of the Joint Typhoon Weather Center on May 09, 2015.

The AIRS instrument on Aqua captured the images below of Dolphin between 10:59 pm EDT on May 9 and 11:00 am May 10 (02:59 UTC/15:17 UTC). Dolphin is currently located (as of 5:00am EDT/0900 GMT) 464 miles ENE of Chuuk moving northwest at 9 knots (10 mph). It is expected to start to strengthen after a day or so. Dolphin is expected to reach 120 knots (138 mph) after 5 days, as it approaches Guam.

Its are 45 knots with gusts to 55 knots (51 to 63 mph). The Federated States of Micronesia and the Northern Mariana Islands are both in the sights of Dolphin. Residents of Fananu in Chuuk State and the Marianas should monitor 07W carefully.

Tropical Storm Dolphin threatening Micronesia
These images taken by the AIRS instrument on Aqua show Tropical Storm Dolphin approximately 12 hours apart as it makes its way through the Pacific. Credit: NASA JPL, Ed Olsen

Explore further

Tropical Depression 07W starting to get organized

Citation: Tropical Storm Dolphin threatening Micronesia (2015, May 11) retrieved 23 April 2021 from https://phys.org/news/2015-05-tropical-storm-dolphin-threatening-micronesia.html
This document is subject to copyright. Apart from any fair dealing for the purpose of private study or research, no part may be reproduced without the written permission. The content is provided for information purposes only.
14 shares

Feedback to editors

User comments