GPM satellite sees birth of Tropical Depression 3W in northwestern Pacific

NASA-JAXA's GPM sees birth of Tropical Depression 3W in northwestern Pacific
NASA-JAXA's GPM core satellite saw heaviest rainfall at a rate of 1.6 inches (40 mm) per hour was occurring southwest of TD03W's center on March 11, 12:21 p.m. EDT. Credit: NASA/JAXA/NRL

The third tropical depression of the northwestern Pacific Ocean typhoon season has formed in eastern Micronesia as NASA-JAXA's GPM satellite gathered rainfall data on the developing storm.

A watch was already in effect on March 11 for Ujae and Ailinglaplap atolls in the western Marshall Islands.

The Global Precipitation Measurement or GPM core satellite gathered on TD03W when it passed overhead on March 11 at 16:21 UTC (12:21 p.m. EDT). GPM saw that the heaviest rainfall was occurring southwest of the center of circulation where rainfall rates were near 1.6 inches (40 mm) per hour.

On March 11 at 1500 UTC (11 a.m. EST), Tropical Depression 03W (TD03W) formed just 92 nautical miles south of Kwajalein, part of the Marshall Islands. The center of TD03W was located near 7.2 north latitude and 168.2 east longitude. TD03W's maximum sustained winds were near 30 knots (34.5 mph/55.5 kph). It was moving to the west at 18 knots (20 mph/33 kph) and is expected to become a tropical storm.

TD03W is forecast to move to the west-northwest toward Guam.


Explore further

NASA eyes rainfall in newly formed Tropical Cyclone Pam

Citation: GPM satellite sees birth of Tropical Depression 3W in northwestern Pacific (2015, March 11) retrieved 11 July 2020 from https://phys.org/news/2015-03-gpm-satellite-birth-tropical-depression.html
This document is subject to copyright. Apart from any fair dealing for the purpose of private study or research, no part may be reproduced without the written permission. The content is provided for information purposes only.
11 shares

Feedback to editors

User comments