NASA sees Typhoon Nuri pass Iwo To, Japan

November 5, 2014, NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center
NASA's Aqua satellite captured a visible picture of Typhoon Nuri on Nov. 5 at 4:10 UTC (11:10 p.m. EST, Nov. 4). Credit: NASA Goddard MODIS Rapid Response Team

Typhoon Nuri continued moving in a northeasterly direction passing the island of Iwo To, Japan when NASA's Aqua satellite passed overhead.

The Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer or MODIS instrument that flies aboard NASA's Aqua satellite captured a visible picture of Typhoon Nuri on Nov. 5 at 4:10 UTC (11:10 p.m. EST, Nov. 4).

At 1002 UTC (5:02 a.m. EST) a captured from NASA/JAXA's Tropical Rainfall Measuring Mission or TRMM satellite showed that the low-level center of circulation was beginning to weaken. The strongest thunderstorms had become isolated in the northern quadrant of the storm. Regardless, a weak eye still appeared on the microwave imagery.

By 1500 UTC (10 a.m. EST) on Nov. 5, Nuri's maximum sustained winds had dropped to 80 knots (92 mph/148.2 kph) as a result of increased wind shear. Nuri was centered near 27.2 north latitude and 139.2 east longitude. That's about 174 nautical miles (200 miles/322 km) northwest of Iwo To. Nuri was moving to the northeast at 10 knots (11.5 mph/18.5 kph).

Nuri is expected to continue weakening as it moves in a northeasterly direction, while remaining over open waters in the western North Pacific. Forecasters at the Joint Typhoon Warning Center also expect Nuri to begin transitioning into an extra-tropical storm over the next day or two.

Explore further: NASA sees Super Typhoon Nuri's eye open in two days

Related Stories

Recommended for you

Coffee-based colloids for direct solar absorption

March 22, 2019

Solar energy is one of the most promising resources to help reduce fossil fuel consumption and mitigate greenhouse gas emissions to power a sustainable future. Devices presently in use to convert solar energy into thermal ...

Paleontologists report world's biggest Tyrannosaurus rex

March 22, 2019

University of Alberta paleontologists have just reported the world's biggest Tyrannosaurus rex and the largest dinosaur skeleton ever found in Canada. The 13-metre-long T. rex, nicknamed "Scotty," lived in prehistoric Saskatchewan ...

0 comments

Please sign in to add a comment. Registration is free, and takes less than a minute. Read more

Click here to reset your password.
Sign in to get notified via email when new comments are made.