

Domingo wins Israel's Wolf Prize

May 13 2012

Spanish tenor Placido Domingo and British conductor Sir Simon Rattle on Sunday were among the winners of Israel's prestigious Wolf Prize for artists and scientists.

Domingo and Rattle shared the arts award, Americans Paul Alivisatos and Charles Lieber won for chemistry, Ronald M. Evans of the United States for medicine, Israel's Jacob Bekestein for physics, and American Michael Ascbaden and Luis Caffarelli, a joint US-Argentine national, took the mathematics prize.

Israeli Education Minister Guideon Saar and <u>parliament</u> speaker Reuven Rivlin presented the awards, each worth \$100,000, at the parliament building in <u>Jerusalem</u>, although the winners for the arts were not at the ceremony.

The <u>prizes</u> have been awarded by the Ricardo Wolf Foundation since 1978.

(c) 2012 AFP

Citation: Domingo wins Israel's Wolf Prize (2012, May 13) retrieved 24 April 2024 from https://phys.org/news/2012-05-domingo-israel-wolf-prize.html

This document is subject to copyright. Apart from any fair dealing for the purpose of private study or research, no part may be reproduced without the written permission. The content is provided for information purposes only.