

Lawmakers to honor pioneering US astronauts

October 21 2011

The first American astronaut to orbit the Earth and the first men to walk on the moon will receive the US Congress's highest honor at a ceremony on November 16, a top lawmaker announced Friday.

Astronauts John Glenn, <u>Neil Armstrong</u>, Michael Collins and <u>Buzz</u> <u>Aldrin</u> will receive the congressional gold medal at the US Capitol, Republican House Speaker John Boehner announced in a statement.

Glenn became the first American to orbit the Earth on February 20, 1962, Armstrong and Aldrin made history on July 20, 1969 by becoming the first humans to walk on the moon, while Collins piloted their Apollo 11 command module.

(c) 2011 AFP

Citation: Lawmakers to honor pioneering US astronauts (2011, October 21) retrieved 23 May 2024 from https://phys.org/news/2011-10-lawmakers-honor-astronauts.html

This document is subject to copyright. Apart from any fair dealing for the purpose of private study or research, no part may be reproduced without the written permission. The content is provided for information purposes only.