NASA prepares for EPOXI mission comet flyby

NASA prepares for comet flyby
Navigators and mission controllers for NASA’s EPOXI mission communicated with the spacecraft for a trajectory correction maneuver on October 27, 2010. Image credit: NASA/JPL-Caltech

In one of its final mission trajectory correction maneuvers, the EPOXI mission spacecraft has refined its orbit, preparing it for the flyby of comet Hartley 2 on Nov. 4. The time of closest approach to the comet on that day is expected to be about 7:02 a.m. PDT (10:02 a.m. EDT).

Yesterday's trajectory correction maneuver began at 11 a.m. PDT (2 p.m. EDT), when the spacecraft burned its engines for 60 seconds, changing its velocity by 1.59 meters per second (3.6 miles per hour).

On Nov. 4, the spacecraft will fly past Hartley 2 at a distance of about 700 kilometers (435 miles). It will be only the fifth time in history that a spacecraft has been close enough to image a comet's nucleus.

EPOXI is an extended mission that uses the already "in-flight" Deep Impact spacecraft to explore distinct celestial targets of opportunity. The name EPOXI itself is a combination of the names for the two extended mission components: the extrasolar planet observations, called Extrasolar Planet Observations and Characterization (EPOCh); and the flyby of Hartley 2, called the Deep Impact Extended Investigation (DIXI). The spacecraft will continue to be referred to as "."

Provided by JPL/NASA

Citation: NASA prepares for EPOXI mission comet flyby (2010, October 28) retrieved 27 January 2023 from https://phys.org/news/2010-10-nasa-epoxi-mission-comet-flyby.html
This document is subject to copyright. Apart from any fair dealing for the purpose of private study or research, no part may be reproduced without the written permission. The content is provided for information purposes only.

Explore further

NASA's EPOXI mission sets up for comet flyby

0 shares

Feedback to editors