The American Society for Microbiology announces the 2012 Award Laureates

May 24th, 2012
The American Society for Microbiology (ASM) is proud to announce the 2012 award laureates. The awards will be presented during the 112th General Meeting of the ASM, June 16-19, 2012 in San Francisco, CA.

Abbott Award in Clinical and Diagnostic Immunology honors a distinguished scientist in the field of clinical or diagnostic immunology.

Bruce S. Rabin, M.D., Ph.D., Medical Director, Clinical Immunopathology, University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, PA

Abbott-ASM Lifetime Achievement Award honors an individual whose made sustained contributions to the microbiological sciences.

Stuart B. Levy, M.D., Director, Center for Adaptation Genetics and Drug Resistance, Distinguished Professor of Medicine, Tufts University School of Medicine, Boston, MA

ASM Founders Distinguished Service Award recognizes a member of ASM for outstanding contributions to the Society in a volunteer capacity at the national level.

Ellen Jo Baron, Ph.D., Director, Medical Affairs, Cepheid, Sunnyvale, CA

ASM Graduate Microbiology Teaching Award honors an individual for exemplary teaching of microbiology and mentoring of students at the graduate and postgraduate levels and for encouraging students to subsequent achievement.

Joanna B. Goldberg, Ph.D., Professor, University of Virginia, Charlottesville

BD Award for Research in Clinical Microbiology honors a distinguished clinical microbiologist for outstanding research accomplishments leading to or forming the foundation for important applications in clinical microbiology.

Patrice Courvalin, M.D., Head of the Antibacterial Agents Unit, Insitut Pasteur, Paris, France

bioMérieux Sonnenwirth Award for Leadership in Clinical Microbiology recognizes a distinguished microbiologist for the promotion of innovation in clinical laboratory science, dedication to ASM, and the advancement of clinical microbiology as a profession.

Susan E. Sharp, M.S., Ph.D., Director of Microbiology, Kaiser Permanente Northwest, Portland, OR

Carski Foundation Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching Award recognizes a mature individual for distinguished teaching of microbiology to undergraduate students and for encouraging them to subsequent achievement.

Lilliam Casillas-Martinez, Ph.D., Full Professor, University of Puerto Rico, Humacao

DC White Research and Mentoring Award recognizes distinguished accomplishments in interdisciplinary research and mentoring in microbiology.

E. Peter Greenberg, Ph.D., Professor of Microbiology, University of Washington, Seattle

Eli Lilly and Company Research Award rewards fundamental research of unusual merit in microbiology or immunology.

Akiko Iwasaki, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Yale University School of Medicine, New Haven, CT

Gen-Probe Joseph Public Health Award honors a distinguished microbiologist who has exhibited exemplary leadership and service in the field of public health.

I. Kaye Wachsmuth, Ph.D., International Public Health Consultant, Independent Consultant, DeLand, FL

GlaxoSmithKline International Member of the Year Award honors a distinguished microbiologist who has exhibited exemplary leadership in the international microbiological community.

Geoffrey L. Smith, FRS, Wellcome Trust Principal Research Fellow and Head, Department of Pathology, Cambridge, United Kingdom

Maurice Hilleman/Merck Award honors outstanding contributions toward fostering the research training of underrepresented minorities in microbiology.

Myron M. Levine, M.D., Grollman Distinguished Professor and Director, University of Maryland School of Medicine, Baltimore

Merck Irving S. Sigal Memorial Award recognize and award excellence in basic research in medical microbiology and infectious diseases.

Joseph D. Mougous, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Microbiology, University of Washington School of Medicine, Seattle and Anthony Richardson, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Microbiology & Immunology, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Moselio Schaechter Distinguished Service Award honors an ASM member who has shown exemplary leadership and commitment towards the substantial furthering of the profession of microbiology in research, education or technology in the developing world.

Jayaraman Gowrishankar, Ph.D., Director, Staff Scientist, Laboratory of Bacterial Genetics, Centre for DNA Fingerprinting & Diagnostics, Hyderabad, India

Procter & Gamble Award in Applied and Environmental Microbiology recognizes distinguished achievement in research and development in applied (non-clinical) and environmental microbiology.

Bess Ward, Ph.D., William J. Sinclair Professor of Geosciences, Princeton University, New Jersey

Promega Biotechnology Research Award honors outstanding contributions to the application of biotechnology through fundamental microbiological research and development.

Bernhard Palsson, Ph.D., Galetti Professor of Bioengineering, University of California, San Diego

Raymond W. Sarber Award recognize students at the undergraduate and predoctoral levels for research excellence and potential.

Jeff Chen, University of California, Davis and

Sandeep Kishore, Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP) Fellow, Weill Cornell/Rockefeller/Sloan- Kettering Tri‐Intuitional, New York, NY

Roche Diagnostics Alice C. Evans Award honors a member of ASM for major contributions toward the full participation and advancement of women in microbiology.

Micah I. Krichevsky, Ph.D., Chairman, Bionomics International, Wheaton, MD

Scherago-Rubin Award recognizes an outstanding, bench-level clinical microbiologist.

Brent Barrett, Indiana State Department of Health Laboratory, Indianapolis

Siemens Healthcare Diagnostics Young Investigator Award recognizes research excellence and potential to further the educational or research objectives of an outstanding young clinical scientist.

Aaron R. Jex, Ph.D., University of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

TREK Diagnostic ABMM/ABMLI Professional Recognition Award recognizes an ABMM or ABMLI Diplomate for outstanding contributions to the professional recognition of clinical microbiologists and/or immunologists.

L. Barth Reller, M.D., Director of Clinical Microbiology, Professor of Pathology and Medicine, Duke University Medical Center, Durham

USFCC/J. Roger Porter Award recognizes outstanding efforts by a scientist who has demonstrated the importance of microbial biodiversity through sustained curatorial or stewardship activities for a major resource used by the scientific community.

Stephen J. Giovannoni, Ph.D., Professor, Oregon State University

William A. Hinton Research Training Award honors outstanding contributions toward fostering the research training of underrepresented minorities in microbiology.

LaJoyce H. Debro, Ph.D., Professor of Biology, Jacksonville State University, AL

Provided by American Society for Microbiology

This Science News Wire page contains a press release issued by an organization mentioned above and is provided to you “as is” with little or no review from Phys.Org staff.

More news stories

Entire Himalayan arc can produce large earthquakes

The main fault at the foot of the Himalayan mountains can likely generate destructive, major earthquakes along its entire 2,400-kilometer (1,500-mile) length, a new study finds. Combining historical documents with new geologic ...

New analysis of big data sheds light on cell functions

Researchers have developed a new way of obtaining useful information from big data in biology to better understand—and predict—what goes on inside a cell. Using genome-scale models, researchers were able to integrate ...