News tagged with satellite services

TRMM analyzes Hurricane Cristobal

NASA's Tropical Rainfall Measuring Mission or TRMM Satellite provided a look under the hood of Hurricane Cristobal as it continues moving north and paralleling the U.S. East Coast. NASA's HS3 hurricane mission also investigated ...

dateAug 28, 2014 in Earth Sciences
shares0 comments 0

NASA image: Fires in Western Australia

According to the Department of Fire and Emergency Services of Western Australia, a bushfire ADVICE remains for people travelling along Great Northern Highway approximately 20 kilometres east of Broome, and Cape Leveque Road ...

dateAug 25, 2014 in Earth Sciences
shares0 comments 0

NASA sees Tropical Storm 9 over Guam

Guam and surrounding areas were under a Tropical Storm Warning and Watch on July 11 as NASA's Aqua satellite passed overhead. During the early morning hours on July 11, Tropical Depression 09W strengthened into a tropical ...

dateJul 11, 2014 in Earth Sciences
shares0 comments 0

How the world watches the World Cup on TV, online

Television and online rights for sporting events are typically sold by territory. For the World Cup, that means U.S. viewers are limited to what's available through U.S. television networks ABC, ESPN and Univision.

dateJun 16, 2014 in Telecom
shares0 comments 1

NASA image: Skunk Fire, Arizona

The Skunk Fire continues to burn on the San Carlos Apache Reservation in southeastern Arizona and NASA's Aqua satellite captured an image of the smoke on May 17 at 20:15 UTC (4:15 p.m. EDT/1:15 p.m. MST). A Fire Weather Watch ...

dateMay 19, 2014 in Earth Sciences
shares0 comments 0

MH370 should make us rethink how we monitor planes

Search ships may be honing in on the black box from missing Malaysian Airlines Flight MH370 after weeks of searching. But whether they are successful or not, the difficulty they have encountered along the way should have ...

dateApr 09, 2014 in Other
shares0 comments 1