Possible first eastern Pacific tropical depression shaping up on NASA imagery

June 6th, 2011 in Earth / Earth Sciences

NASA's Aqua satellite flew over a low pressure system in the Eastern Pacific and captured infrared imagery that show it to be well-defined and organizing. System 91E is shaping up to likely become the Eastern Pacific's first tropical depression of the season.

Located about 425 miles south of Acapulco, Mexico, System 91E is in a good spot for development: warm and low wind shear. Those are two factors needed to help a tropical cyclone develop.

on June 5 at 19:47 UTC (3:47 p.m. EDT/12:47 PDT) from the AIRS instrument that flies aboard NASA's Aqua satellite showed a large area of strong convection and thunderstorms around the low-level circulation center ofSystem 91E.

The National Hurricane Center gives this low a 90 percent chance of development over the next two days, and if it becomes a tropical storm it would get the name Adrian.

Provided by NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center

"Possible first eastern Pacific tropical depression shaping up on NASA imagery." June 6th, 2011. http://phys.org/news/2011-06-eastern-pacific-tropical-depression-nasa.html