Tropical Depression 2-E struggling, while Tropical Storm Blas is born

Jun 17, 2010
NASA's Aqua satellite captured an infrared image of TD2-E hugging the coast of western Mexico (small rounded area, center) and the western half of Tropical Storm Blas that appears as a half circle (left). Both have high, strong thunderstorms in their center (purple). Credit: NASA JPL, Ed Olsen

NASA infrared satellite imagery captured two tropical depressions in the Eastern Pacific Ocean today, as one struggles to survive and the other powered up into Tropical Storm Blas.

On June 17 at 08:11 UTC (4:11 a.m. EDT/1:11 PDT) the Atmospheric Infrared Sounder (AIRS) instrument that flies aboard NASA's Aqua satellite captured an of Tropical Depression 2-E (TD2-E) hugging the coast of western Mexico and the western half of Tropical Storm Blas which is farther west and in open waters. Both have high, strong thunderstorms in their center. The AIRS image indicates strong convection, with cloud top temperatures as cold or colder than -63 Fahrenheit.

Tropical Depression 2-E in the Eastern Pacific is close to land and although it is having difficultly strengthening it is still bringing a lot of rain to the western Mexican coast to the states of Oxaca and southern Guerrero. At 5 a.m. PDT (8 a.m. EDT) TD2-E still had near 30 mph, as it did 24 hours before. It was located near 15.6 North and 98.0 West, about 60 miles (100 km) west-southwest of Puerto Escondido, Mexico, or 65 miles (105 km) southeast of Punto Maldonado, Mexico. TD2-E is moving at 9 mph (15 km/hr) toward the west-northwest, and has a minimum central pressure of 1008 millibars.

Heavy rainfall is the main threat from this system. A tropical storm warning is in effect for Salina Cruz to Acapulco, Mexico and a tropical storm watch in in effect for areas west of Acapulco to Zihuatanejo. TD2-E is expected to continue moving north-northwest along the coast for the next day or two, continuing its rainy assault over land.

TD2-E is expected to produce total rain accumulations of 4 to 8 inches along the coast of the state of Oaxaca and southern Guerrero, with possible isolated maximum amounts of 12 inches. These rains could produce life-threatening flash floods and mudslides.

At 11 a.m. EDT (8 a.m. PDT) on June 17, the third tropical depression of the Eastern Pacific Hurricane Season was born. By 11:40 a.m. EDT (8:40 a.m. PDT) 3-E (TD3-E) had strengthened into Tropical Storm Blas with maximum sustained winds near 40 mph and is expected to strengthen more over the next 48 hours. It is currently located about 265 miles (425 km) south-southwest of Manzanillo, Mexico, near 15.3 North latitude and 105.3 West longitude. It is moving northeast near 2 mph (4 km/hr) and is expected to turn to the west-northwest. Estimated minimum central pressure is 1006 millibars. There are no coastal warnings in effect for this .

Explore further: Likely near-simultaneous earthquakes complicate seismic hazard planning for Italy

add to favorites email to friend print save as pdf

Related Stories

Tropical Depression Erin Soaking East Texas

Aug 16, 2007

Tropical Storm Erin quickly weakened to a tropical depression when she made landfall on the Texas coast near Lamar during the early morning hours of Thursday, August 16, 2007.

Baja California residents watching for Hurricane Rick

Oct 16, 2009

Based on computer forecast models, the residents of southern and central Baja California should prepare over the weekend for now Tropical Storm Rick. Rick formed late yesterday, October 15, and is expected ...

Recommended for you

Giant garbage patches help redefine ocean boundaries

9 minutes ago

The Great Pacific Garbage Patch is an area of environmental concern between Hawaii and California where the ocean surface is marred by scattered pieces of plastic, which outweigh plankton in that part of ...

New satellite maps out Napa Valley earthquake

1 hour ago

Scientists have used a new Earth-observation satellite called Sentinel-1A to map the ground movements caused by the earthquake that shook up California's wine-producing Napa Valley on 24 August 2014.

Rainfall monitoring with mobile phones

1 hour ago

Agriculture, water resource management, drought and flood warnings, etc.: rainfall monitoring is vital in many areas. But the observation networks remain insufficient. This is not the case for antennas for ...

Seismic hazards reassessed in the Andes

1 hour ago

Although being able to predict the date on which the next big earthquake will occur is still some way off becoming a reality, it is now possible to identify the areas where they will occur. IRD researchers ...

User comments : 0