Tropical Cyclone Ula's winds, rainfall seen by NASA's GPM and RapidScat

January 12, 2016
GPM measured Ula's rainfall on Jan. 11, 2016 at 1126 UTC (6:26 a.m. EST). GPM's Microwave Imager (GMI) revealed that heavy rain was falling around Ula's eye. Credit: NASA/JAXA/SSAI, Hal Pierce

A weaker Tropical Storm Ula continued to move through the Southern Pacific Ocean on Jan. 11 after peaking at major hurricane status. NASA's RapidScat instrument looked at Ula's winds, while the Global Precipitation Measurement or GPM mission satellite measured rainfall in the storm.

Tropical cyclone Ula's winds peaked at 115 knots (132 mph) over the weekend of Jan. 9 and 10 Those high winds meant that for a couple days Ula was a category four tropical cyclone on the Saffir-Simpson Hurricane Wind Scale. Ula moved over the waters of the North Fiji Basin between the Fiji Islands and New Caledonia before moving southeastward into the South Fiji Basin.

The GPM core observatory satellite is co-managed by NASA and the Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency. GPM had good views of powerful tropical cyclone Ula during its changes in intensity. On January 8, 2015 at 2216 UTC (5:16 p.m. EST) GPM saw that rain was falling at a rate of over 63.5 mm (2.5 inches) per hour north of the intensifying tropical cyclone's eye. GPM's Dual-Frequency Precipitation Radar (DPR) instrument (Ku Band) collected 3-D data at that time that showed cloud tops reached heights above 12.2 km (7.6 miles) in Ula's inner and outer eye walls.

GPM also saw Ula on January 9 at 1136 UTC (6:36 a.m. EST) and on January 11 at 1126 UTC (6:26 a.m. EST). GPM's Microwave Imager (GMI) revealed that heavy rain was falling around Ula's eye on both dates.

On Jan. 11 at 1300 UTC (8 a.m. EST) NASA's RapidScat instrument measured surface winds in Tropical Cyclone Ula and saw strongest sustained winds near 32 meters per second//71.5 mph/115.2 kph circled the storm's center and extended south of the center.

Maximum sustained winds are not always equally distributed in a hurricane or tropical storm, and the RapidScat instrument helps forecasters find the strongest quadrants of a storm. RapidScat is an instrument that flies aboard the International Space Station.

By Jan. 12 at 0900 UTC (4 a.m. EST) Tropical Cyclone Ula's maximum sustained winds dropped to 50 knots (57.5 mph/92.6 kph). It was centered near 28.3 degrees south latitude and 172.7 degrees east longitude, about 259 nautical miles (298 miles/479.7 km) northeast of Kingston Island. Ula was moving to the southeast at 13 knots (14.9 mph/24.0 kph).

The Joint Typhoon Warning Center (JTWC) predicts that Ula will continue weakening as it becomes extra-tropical and passes over the open waters of the South Pacific Ocean well to the north New Zealand.

Explore further: NASA sees Tropical Cyclone Ula's eye and rainfall

Related Stories

NASA sees Tropical Cyclone Ula's eye and rainfall

January 1, 2016

Tropical Cyclone Ula formed on Dec. 30 and continued tracking south of Pago Pago as NASA observed rainfall rates and saw an eye form the next day. Warnings were in effect in Fiji as Ula approaches.

Tropical Storm Ula weakens, moves south

January 5, 2016

Former hurricane Ula has weakened to a tropical storm in the Southern Pacific Ocean. NOAA's GOES-West satellite captured an infrared image of the storm on Jan. 5 that showed it moved further south of Fiji.

NASA sees Tropical Cyclone Ula weakening

January 6, 2016

Tropical Cyclone Ula continued to move west, passing south of Fiji when NASA's Aqua satellite passed overhead and captured an image of the weakening storm.

NASA analyzes Tropical Storm Ula's winds

January 7, 2016

Tropical Storm Ula continued to weaken as it pulled farther away from Fiji in the Southern Pacific Ocean. NASA's RapidScat instrument found that the strongest winds in the storm were south of the center. NOAA's GOES-West ...

NASA sees stubborn Tropical Cyclone Ula kick up

January 8, 2016

Tropical Storm Ula strengthened over the night-time hours of Jan. 6 to 7 and NOAA's GOES-West satellite and NASA's RapidScat instrument provided a look at the stubborn storm that is expected to continue to intensify and curve ...

NASA sees Tropical Cyclone Ula's eye closing

January 11, 2016

NASA satellite imagery showed that Tropical Cyclone Ula's eye appeared to be "closing" as clouds began filling it. Meanwhile New Caledonia remained on alert as the powerful storm continued moving away.

Recommended for you

Did meteorites bring life's phosphorus to Earth?

August 30, 2016

Meteorites that crashed onto Earth billions of years ago may have provided the phosphorous essential to the biological systems of terrestrial life. The meteorites are believed to have contained a phosphorus-bearing mineral ...

0 comments

Please sign in to add a comment. Registration is free, and takes less than a minute. Read more

Click here to reset your password.
Sign in to get notified via email when new comments are made.