New tropical depression forms and moves into central Pacific Ocean

July 8, 2015 by Rob Gutro
NOAA's GOES-West satellite captured an infrared image of Tropical Depression 4E at 0900 UTC (5 a.m. EDT) on July 8 after it moved into the Central Pacific. Credit: NASA/NOAA GOES Project

Tropical Depression 4E formed in the Eastern Pacific and crossed the 140 West longitude line as of the 0300 UTC time, which brought it into the Central Pacific Ocean. NOAA's GOES-West satellite captured an infrared image of the depression at 0900 UTC (5 a.m. EDT) on July 8 that showed the large storm in the Central Pacific.

At 8 p.m. PDT/11 p.m. EDT on July 7, (0300 UTC on July 8), the center of newly formed Tropical Depression Four-E was located near latitude 15.4 North, longitude 140.2 West. The depression was moving toward the west-northwest near 17 mph (28 kph) and this general motion is expected to continue for the next 48 hours.

Maximum sustained winds are near 35 mph (55 kph). The National Hurricane Center noted that some strengthening is forecast during the next 48 hours, and the depression is expected to become a later Tuesday night (July 8) or early Wednesday, July 9. The estimated minimum central pressure is 1005 millibars.

Tropical Depression 4E has now moved into the Central Pacific Ocean, and the future forecasts will be issued by NOAA's Central Pacific Hurricane Center in Honolulu, Hawaii.

The GOES satellite image showed a large storm with fragmented bands of thunderstorms wrapping into the low level center from the north and south. The image was created by the NASA/NOAA GOES Project at NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, Maryland.

NHC noted that in four days, the system is expected to weaken and become more vertically shallow, and be steered westward by the low-level easterly trade wind flow.

Explore further: First Eastern Pacific tropical depression runs ahead of dawn

Related Stories

NASA saw Tropical Depression 3-E coming together

June 11, 2015

The third tropical depression of the active Eastern Pacific Ocean hurricane season formed and NASA's RapidScat saw its winds coming together as it formed. NASA's Terra satellite provided an image of the storm's cloud extent ...

Satellite imagery shows a weaker Hurricane Andres

June 2, 2015

Infrared-light imagery from NOAA's GOES-West satellite on June 2 shows a weaker Hurricane Andres. The weakening of the storm is apparent in the storm's structure, as it has lost its eye and no longer appears perfectly rounded.

Recommended for you


Please sign in to add a comment. Registration is free, and takes less than a minute. Read more

Click here to reset your password.
Sign in to get notified via email when new comments are made.