NASA sees a weaker Tropical Storm Julio far north of Hawaii

Aug 12, 2014
NASA's Terra satellite captured this visible image of Tropical Storm Julio far north of Hawaii on August 11 at 21:25 UTC. Credit: NASA Goddard MODIS Rapid Response Team

Tropical Storm Julio continues to weaken as it moves through cooler waters of the Central Pacific Ocean. NASA's Terra satellite passed over Julio and saw that the bulk of the clouds and precipitation were being pushed to the34 north of the center as the storm tracked far north of the Hawaiian Islands.

NASA's Terra satellite passed over Julio on August 11 at 21:25 UTC (5:25 p.m. EDT) and the Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer or MODIS instrument aboard took a visible picture of the storm. The MODIS image revealed a circular center, but most of the clouds and showers associated with the storm were pushed north of the center. Drier air, located over the southern quadrant of the storm is sapping the development of thunderstorms.

Julio tracked far enough away from the Hawaiian Islands so that no watches or warnings were generated for the storm.

At 5 a.m. HST local time (1500 UTC/11 a.m. EDT) on August 12, the center of Tropical Storm Julio was located near latitude 28.6 north, longitude 157.1 west, about 505 miles (815 km) north of Honolulu Hawaii. Julio was moving toward the northwest near 6 mph (9 kph) and NOAA's Central Pacific Hurricane Center (CPHC) expects that motion to continue over the next day before the storm gradually turns north. Maximum sustained winds were near 65 mph (100 kph) and a slow weakening is forecast over the next two days.

The CPHC expects that cooler waters and increasing wind shear will weaken Julio into a depression by August 14.

Explore further: Julio embarking on weakening trend

add to favorites email to friend print save as pdf

Related Stories

Julio embarking on weakening trend

Aug 11, 2014

The Central Pacific Hurricane Center has issued its 30th warning on Julio today at 1500 GMT. Julio's position at this point is 395 miles northeast of Honolulu, Hawaii moving northwest at 8 knots per hour. ...

NASA satellite paints a triple hurricane Pacific panorama

Aug 06, 2014

In three passes over the Central and Eastern Pacific Ocean, NASA's Terra satellite took pictures of the three current tropical cyclones, painting a Pacific Tropical Panorama. Terra observed Hurricane Genevieve, ...

Recommended for you

Icelandic volcano sits on massive magma hot spot

14 hours ago

Spectacular eruptions at Bárðarbunga volcano in central Iceland have been spewing lava continuously since Aug. 31. Massive amounts of erupting lava are connected to the destruction of supercontinents and ...

NASA sees Tropical Storm Ana still vigorous

16 hours ago

NASA's TRMM satellite saw that Tropical Storm Ana was still generating moderate rainfall is it pulled away from Hawaii. The next day, NASA's Aqua satellite saw that wind shear was having an effect on the ...

User comments : 0