NASA sees fragmented thunderstorm bands wrapped around Tropical Storm Karina

Aug 14, 2014
On Aug. 13 at 21:00 UTC (5 p.m. EDT), the MODIS instrument aboard NASA's Aqua satellite captured this visible image of Tropical Storm Karina off the west coast of Mexico. Credit: NASA Goddard MODIS Rapid Response Team

Although Tropical Storm Karina is still strengthening in the Eastern Pacific Ocean NASA's Aqua satellite revealed a large band of fragmented thunderstorms wrapping into its center from the north.

On August 13 at 21:00 UTC (5 p.m. EDT), the MODIS or Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer instrument aboard NASA's Aqua satellite captured a of Tropical Storm Karina off the of Mexico. The image showed a concentration of strong thunderstorms around the center of circulation while the band of thunderstorms to the north appeared broken. The strongest and largest area of precipitation appeared on the storm's southwestern side.

At 5 a.m. EDT (2 a.m. PDT/0900 UTC) on Thursday, August 14, the center of Tropical Storm Karina was located near latitude 17.4 north and longitude 115.2 west. That's about 510 miles (825 km) south of the southern tip of Baja California, Mexico. Karina was moving toward the west near 14 mph. (22 kph). Maximum sustained winds have increased to near 60 mph (95 kph) and the National Hurricane Center expects the storm to continue strengthening.

The NHC expects Karina to become a hurricane late on August 14 as it continues in a westerly direction through the Eastern Pacific Ocean.

Explore further: Tropical Storm Karina forms in Eastern Pacific near Socorro Island

add to favorites email to friend print save as pdf

Related Stories

NASA's Aqua satellite puts two eyes on Hurricane Bertha

Aug 05, 2014

Two instruments or "eyes" from NASA's Aqua satellite were peering at Hurricane Bertha in the North Atlantic Ocean shortly after it became the season's second hurricane. Bertha's hurricane status didn't last ...

NASA sees a weaker Tropical Storm Douglas

Jul 02, 2014

NASA's Aqua satellite captured a picture of Tropical Storm Douglas as it began moving into cooler waters in the Eastern Pacific Ocean. Those cooler waters, coupled with drier air are expected to bring about ...

Recommended for you

NASA image: Fires in the southern United States

19 hours ago

In this image taken by the Aqua satellite of the southern United States actively burning areas as detected by MODIS's thermal bands are outlined in red. Each red hot spot is an area where the thermal detectors ...

User comments : 0