NASA satellite sees a ragged eye develop in Tropical Cyclone Guito

Feb 19, 2014 by Rob Gutro
The MODIS instrument aboard NASA's Aqua satellite captured this image of Tropical Cyclone Guito on Feb. 19 at 1140 UTC/6:40 a.m. EST as it continued moving south through the Mozambique Channel in the Southern Indian Ocean. Credit: NASA/NRL

NASA satellite data was an "eye opener" when it came to Tropical Cyclone 15S, now known as Guito in the Mozambique Channel today, Feb. 19, 2014. NASA's Aqua satellite passed over Guito and visible imagery revealed a ragged eye had developed as the tropical cyclone intensified.

The Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer or MODIS instrument aboard NASA's Aqua satellite captured a visible image of Tropical Cyclone Guito on Feb. 19 at 1140 UTC/6:40 a.m. EST as it continued moving south through the Mozambique Channel. The image revealed a ragged-looking eye with a band of strong thunderstorms wrapping from the northwestern to the southeastern quadrants of the storm.

On Feb. 19 at 1500 UTC/10 a.m. EST, Tropical Cyclone Guito's maximum sustained winds near 60 knots/69 mph/111 kph. Guito was centered near 21.5 south latitude and 39.6 east longitude, about 405 nautical miles/466.1 miles/750.1 km west of Antananarivo, Madagascar. Guito has been moving to the south at 10 knots/11.5 mph/18.2 kph.

On Feb. 19 at 07:15 UTC/2:15 a.m. EST, the MODIS instrument aboard NASA's Terra satellite captured this visible image of Tropical Cyclone Guito in the Mozambique Channel, showing a ragged eye developing. Credit: NASA Goddard MODIS Rapid Response Team

The Joint Typhoon Warning Center or JTWC noted that a mid-latitude trough (elongated area) of low pressure is approaching Guito from the southwest. That trough is expected to cause Guito to recurve southeastward as the storm transitions into an extra-tropical storm over the next couple of days.

Explore further: Tsunami warning issued for parts of Pacific after earthquake

Related Stories

NASA satellite sees Tropical Cyclone Fobane spinning down

Feb 12, 2014

Tropical Cyclone Fobane continues to be battered with increasing vertical wind shear as it moves southward through the Southern Indian Ocean. NASA's Aqua satellite passed overhead and saw the bulk of precipitation ...

Recommended for you

Image: Aral Sea from orbit

Mar 27, 2015

This multitemporal Sentinel-1A radar image shows the Aral Sea, located on the border between Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan in Central Asia.

IceBridge overflies Norwegian camp on drifting sea ice

Mar 27, 2015

Studying sea ice in the Fram Strait, a passage between Greenland and Svalbard that is the main gateway for Arctic sea ice into the open ocean, is not easy. In this area, not only does ice flow southward quickly ...

User comments : 0

Please sign in to add a comment. Registration is free, and takes less than a minute. Read more

Click here to reset your password.
Sign in to get notified via email when new comments are made.