NASA watches as India braces for Tropical Cyclone Lehar

Nov 27, 2013 by Rob Gutro
The MODIS instrument aboard NASA's Aqua satellite captured this visible image of Tropical Cyclone Lehar nearing the coast of central India on Nov. 27 at 0715 UTC. Credit: NRL-Monterey/NASA

Tropical Cyclone Lehar is weakening as it heads for a landfall in eastern India. NASA's Aqua satellite captured an image of the storm nearing the coast today, November 27.

Warnings were in effect in India for northern Andhra Pradesh and southern Odisha as Lehar approaches. Lehar will bring winds, and storm surge to those Indian states today, and tomorrow. A storm surge of up to 3 meters is possible.

The MODIS instrument aboard NASA's Aqua satellite captured a visible image of Tropical Cyclone Lehar nearing the coast of central India on Nov. 27 at 0715 UTC/2:15 a.m. EST. The MODIS image showed bands of thunderstorms extending from the northern and southern quadrants of the storm, wrapping into the center. There was no visible eye, despite Lehar being at minimal hurricane-strength.

At 1500 UTC/10 a.m. EST on November 27, Lehar's maximum sustained winds were near 55 knots/63.2 mph/101.9 kph. Tropical-storm-force winds extended out 105 nautical miles/120.8 miles/194.5 km from the center of circulation, and the center was about 195 nautical miles southeast of Visakhapatnam, India. That puts the center near 15.1 north and 84.2 east. Lehar is generating high and rough seas with wave heights to 24 feet/7.3 meters as it moves to the west-northwest at 12 knots/13.8 mph/22.2 kph.

The Joint Typhoon Warning Center expects Lehar to strengthen a little more before making landfall in eastern India on November 27 at 0700 UTC/2 a.m. EST. By November 28 Lehar is expected to dissipate.

Explore further: New study shows influence on climate of fresh water during last ice age

Related Stories

Tropical Cyclone 04B forms in northern Indian Ocean

Nov 19, 2013

The fourth tropical cyclone of the Northern Indian Ocean season formed and is headed for landfall in a couple of days in southeastern India. NASA's TRMM satellite saw broken bands of thunderstorms with moderate ...

Recommended for you

The Arctic: Interglacial period with a break

11 hours ago

Scientists at the Goethe University Frankfurt and at the Senckenberg Biodiversity and Climate Research Centre working together with their Canadian counterparts, have reconstructed the climatic development ...

Building collapse during earthquake aftershocks

11 hours ago

Earthquakes kill, but their aftershocks can cause the rapid collapse of buildings left standing in the aftermath of the initial quake. Research published in the International Journal of Reliability and Sa ...

User comments : 0

Please sign in to add a comment. Registration is free, and takes less than a minute. Read more

Click here to reset your password.
Sign in to get notified via email when new comments are made.