NASA sees formation of northwestern Pacific's Tropical Depression 18W

Sep 18, 2013 by Rob Gutro
NASA's Aqua satellite caught the birth of the eighteenth tropical depression of the northwestern Pacific Ocean tropical cyclone season on Sept. 18 at 0616 UTC/2:16 a.m. EDT. Credit: NRL/NASA

NASA's Aqua satellite caught the birth of the eighteenth tropical depression of the northwestern Pacific Ocean tropical cyclone season. Tropical Depression 18W was born in the South China Sea and is expected to be short-lived after a quick landfall in central Vietnam.

The Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer instrument aboard NASA's Aqua satellite captured a visible image of disorganized Tropical Depression 18W on Sept. 18 at 0616 UTC/2:16 a.m. EDT. Satellite imagery showed that the circulation is large, and that convection and thunderstorms appear disorganized on the northern and western edges of the storm.

On Sept. 18 at 0900 UTC/5 a.m. EDT, Tropical Depression 18W had near 25 knots. It was located just 125 nautical miles east-northeast of Da Nang, Vietnam, near 16.5 north and 109.9 east over the South China Sea. It was moving to the west-northwest at 7 knots.

TD18W is expected to make landfall in central Vietnam on Sept. 19, just south of Hue. It is then expected to continue moving west-southwest and is expected to dissipate within a day after making landfall.

Explore further: Puget Sound quake likely in Seattle Fault zone, geologists say

add to favorites email to friend print save as pdf

Related Stories

Recommended for you

Study links changing winds to warming in Pacific

Sep 22, 2014

A new study released Monday found that warming temperatures in Pacific Ocean waters off the coast of North America over the past century closely followed natural changes in the wind, not increases in greenhouse ...

User comments : 0