New tool promises private photo-sharing—even using Facebook and Flickr

Apr 05, 2013

In the next five minutes, roughly a half-million photos will be shared online. Embarrassing or not, many are only intended for a certain audience—family, or friends maybe—not the whole world. And yet, relatively few will be encrypted, leaving them vulnerable to simple data harvesting.

Thanks to a new tool developed by a research team at USC, that could all be about to change.

The tool, dubbed "P3" for "Privacy-Preserving " removes small amounts of crucial data from a photo and encrypts them, allowing cloud file-sharing services like and Flickr to have only the unencrypted—but now unrecognizable—portion. The photo's owner can then choose to share the encrypted portion with other parties—allowing them to see the whole picture—without ever uploading it to the cloud.

If the whole photo is encrypted, Facebook and cannot resize it, making the photo unusable. However, with P3 such cloud file-sharing services can use the unencrypted portions of the photo (which are degraded beyond recognition) to resize it for viewing on multiple devices like laptops, tablets and phones by those who also receive the encrypted portion.

The tool is the brainchild of Antonio Ortega and Ramesh Govindan, both at the USC Viterbi School of Engineering. They collaborated with USC Ph.D. student Moo-Ryong Ra on the project, and will present their new tool at the USENIX Symposium on and Design Implementation in Chicago on April 5.

"Nobody doubts the convenience of cloud-based sharing, the question is whether we can trust third parties to protect our photos from unauthorized distribution or use," Ortega said. "With P3 you decide how your photos can be used, without losing the of sharing them on through the cloud."

In addition to ensuring privacy, the tool also allows the photo's owner to retain the rights to the photo. When you upload a photo to Facebook, for example, its Statement of Rights and Responsibilities indicates that it has a non-exclusive license to use that photo until you delete your account (provided that the photo hasn't already been shared with another person whose account is still active).

With P3, Facebook still retains the rights to the portion of the photo that you've uploaded – but that portion is a degraded, unrecognizable mess. Only you retain the rights to the complete photo.

P3 is already protected under a provisional patent, and Ortega and Govindan plan to launch a company this summer to market it to the public.

Explore further: Apple HealthKit app facilitates doctor-patient communication

Related Stories

Instagram to share data with Facebook

Dec 17, 2012

Smartphone photo sharing service Instagram on Monday refined its privacy policy to clear the way for sharing data with Facebook, which bought the company earlier this year.

Twitter launching photo-sharing service

Jun 01, 2011

Twitter said Wednesday that it is adding a photo-sharing option for its users, a move that could deal a blow to existing services such as Twitpic and yfrog.

Recommended for you

Report: Trusted Voice option rolling out for some

Apr 15, 2015

Smart Lock is arguably the best new feature in Android Lollipop, wrote Droid Life founder "Kellex" in March. With a secure lock screen set, he said, the user gets a number of options in Smart Lock to keep the phone or tablet quickly unlockable w ...

Redirect to SMB vulnerability in Windows discovered

Apr 14, 2015

News stories on tech spots on Monday reported that the Irvine, California, security company Cylance's SPEAR research team discovered a vulnerability relating to all versions of Windows including the Windows ...

User comments : 0

Please sign in to add a comment. Registration is free, and takes less than a minute. Read more

Click here to reset your password.
Sign in to get notified via email when new comments are made.