NOAA's GOES-13 weather satellite currently has an acting back-up

Oct 01, 2012 by Rob Gutro
The Imager and Sounder instruments on NOAA's GOES-13 satellite sent this image on Sept. 23 at 2045 UTC (4:45 p.m. EDT). The last visible image shows a cold front located off the U.S. East coast.

(Phys.org)—NOAA's GOES-13 weather satellite has been temporarily substituted with the back-up GOES satellite as engineers work to fix the satellite's issues.

's , GOES-13 sits in a fixed orbit over the eastern U.S. and provides continuous coverage of over the continental U.S. and the .

According to NOAA, the GOES-13 Imager went out of service since September 23, 2012 at 2122 UTC (5:22 p.m. EDT), and the GOES-13 Sounder went out of service on September 23, 2012 at 1126 UTC (7:26 a.m. EDT).

The last GOES-13 image occurred on Sept. 23 at 2045 UTC (4:45 p.m. EDT) and showed a located off the U.S. East coast.

GOES-13's performance was inconsistent over the days leading up to the end of the data stream. GOES-15, which is NOAA's GOES-West satellite continued to provide coverage for the US, but is unable to cover the Atlantic Ocean and the east coast. NOAA called into operation the on-orbit spare GOES satellite, called GOES-14, to provide better coverage of the eastern U.S. and to cover most of the Atlantic Ocean. GOES-13 is still transmitting data. GOES-14 data is being relayed via GOES-13 so that users do not have to repoint . Meanwhile, engineers are working to repair the problems with the GOES-13 Imager and Sounder data.

According to a satellite bulletin from NOAA's Satellite and Information Service, Satellite Products and Services Division on Sept. 25, "GOES-13 remains in an Earth pointing nominal attitude with the Imager and Sounder in Standby modes while the September 23 anomaly is being investigated. No estimate on return to operations at this time. Cause and corrective actions are under investigation."

NOAA's GOES-14 satellite remains in a fixed orbit at 105 degrees West with no current plans to drift east, according to NOAA. GOES-14 data began flowing through operational GOES East data paths at 1745 UTC (1:45 p.m. EDT) on Sept. 24, and the first imagery was received at 1830 UTC (2:30 p.m. EDT) on September 24, 2012.

NOAA manages the GOES program, establishes requirements, provides all funding and distributes environmental satellite data for the United States. NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center in Greenbelt, Md., procures and manages the design, development and launch of the satellites for NOAA on a cost reimbursable basis.

Explore further: NASA's HS3 mission spotlight: The HIRAD instrument

More information:
For more information and updated NOAA bulletins, visit: www.ssd.noaa.gov/PS/SATS/bulletins.html

For NOAA Satellite Operations bulletins, visit: www.oso.noaa.gov/daily-news/index.asp

For imagery from NOAA's GOES satellites, visit: www.goes.noaa.gov/ or goes.gsfc.nasa.gov/

add to favorites email to friend print save as pdf

Related Stories

GOES-13 is America's new GOES-EAST satellite

Apr 17, 2010

The Geostationary Operational Environmental Satellite known as GOES-13 became the official GOES-EAST satellite on April 14, 2010. GOES-13 was moved from on-orbit storage and into active duty. It is perched ...

NASA's Goes-N Satellite Ready for Launch

Jul 27, 2005

NASA announced the Geostationary Operational Environmental Satellite-N (GOES-N) is ready to launch. The GOES-N launch window is from 6:23 to 7:01 p.m. EDT, Friday, July 29, 2005. Liftoff is from Space Launch Complex 37, Cape ...

GOES-O satellite reaches orbit, renamed GOES-14

Jul 10, 2009

On June 27, 2009, the Geostationary Operational Environmental Satellite, GOES-O, soared into space during a spectacular launch from the Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida. GOES-O has now been renamed ...

Recommended for you

NASA's HS3 mission spotlight: The HIRAD instrument

8 hours ago

The Hurricane Imaging Radiometer, known as HIRAD, will fly aboard one of two unmanned Global Hawk aircraft during NASA's Hurricane Severe Storm Sentinel or HS3 mission from Wallops beginning August 26 through ...

Fires in the Northern Territories July 2014

21 hours ago

Environment Canada has issued a high health risk warning for Yellowknife and surrounding area because of heavy smoke in the region due to forest fires. In the image taken by the Aqua satellite, the smoke ...

How much magma is hiding beneath our feet?

22 hours ago

Molten rock (or magma) has a strong influence on our planet and its inhabitants, causing destructive volcanic eruptions and generating some of the giant mineral deposits. Our understanding of these phenomena ...

User comments : 0