TRMM satellite sees heavy rainfall in Tropical Storm Bud

May 23, 2012
The TRMM satellite passed over Bud on May 22, 2012, at 6:43 p.m. EDT. This 3-D image from TRMM shows that some of the strong convective towers near Bud's center were taller than 15 km (~9.3 miles). Credit: NASA/TRMM, Hal Pierce

Tropical Storm Bud is dropping heavy rainfall, and appears to be intensifying. NASA's Tropical Rainfall Measuring Mission (TRMM) satellite has been monitoring rainfall within the storm, and has watched it become heavier over the last day - a sign the storm is intensifying.

The TRMM satellite had an excellent view of tropical storm Bud on May 22, 2012 at 2243 UTC 6:43 p.m. EDT/2:43 p.m. PDT). TRMM's (TMI) and (PR) data shows that Bud contained bands of very heavy rainfall near the center of circulation. TRMM revealed that some of these intense storms were dropping rainfall at a rate greater than 50mm/hr (~2 inches).

A 3-D image from TRMM's PR shows that some of the strong convective towers near Bud's center were taller than 15km (~9.3 miles). TRMM PR found reflectivity values of over 58.050 dBz indicating that very heavy rainfall was occurring.

On May 23, at 1500 UTC (8 a.m. PDT) Tropical Storm Bud's were near 65 mph (100 kph). It was located near latitude 13.4 North and longitude 107.6 West, about 445 miles (715 km) south-southwest of Manzanillo, Mexico. Bud is headed northwest near 9 mph (15 kph) and is expected to slow down, according to the National Hurricane Center (NHC).

The NHC also forecasts that Bud will slow and turn to the north-northeast by Friday, May 25. NHC stated that Bud could become a hurricane later today (May 23) or tonight.

Explore further: NASA's HS3 mission continues with flights over Hurricane Gonzalo

add to favorites email to friend print save as pdf

Related Stories

TRMM satellite sees hot towers in Cyclone Koji

Mar 09, 2012

Hot towers, or towering thunderclouds that give off an excessive amount of latent heat, usually indicate a tropical cyclone will strengthen in six hours, and NASA's TRMM satellite saw some of them as it passed ...

NASA sees Tropical Storm Alenga intensifying

Dec 07, 2011

NASA's TRMM satellite passed over Tropical Storm Alenga and noticed that the rainfall has intensified in the storm in the last two days indicating that it continues strengthening.

NASA Sees Eastern Pacific's Second Tropical Storm Form

May 22, 2012

On May 21, NASA satellites were monitoring Tropical Depression 02E in the eastern Pacific Ocean, and 24 hours later it strengthened into the second tropical storm of the season. Tropical Storm Bud was captured ...

Recommended for you

The ocean's living carbon pumps

3 hours ago

When we talk about global carbon fixation – "pumping" carbon out of the atmosphere and fixing it into organic molecules by photosynthesis – proper measurement is key to understanding this process. By ...

User comments : 0