(AP) -- Facebook will now let you pre-approve photos before your friends can post them with your name attached.
Currently, your friends can add your name to a photo without your consent or knowledge. You can remove it later, but only after lots of others may have seen the embarrassing shots. Now, you can insist on pre-approval.
This won't affect whether your friends can add a photo of you, only whether your name is attached to it. That affects how easily people can search for the photo based on your name.
Facebook said Tuesday that the change is in response to user requests.
Instead of going to a separate settings page, the new controls will be on users' pages, next to the posts and photos they share.
Explore further: Austria court throws out Facebook privacy class action suit