3 satellites see eruption of Puyehue-Cordon volcano from space

Jun 06, 2011
GOES-11 satellite image, taken on June 6 at 0900 UTC (5 a.m. EDT) from the farthest vantage point of any of the satellites, still showed the triangular-shaped plume, even from its position over the western US, despite the large distance. Credit: NASA/NOAA GOES Project, Dennis Chesters

NASA's Terra Satellite, the GOES-13 and GOES-11 satellites all captured images of the ash plume from southern Chile's Puyehue-Cordón Volcano this week. The volcano is located in Puyehue National Park in the Andes of Ranco Province of Chile.

The flew over the volcano on June 6 at 14:25 UTC (10:25 a.m. EDT). The Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer (MODIS) instrument captured a visible image of the eruption that showed the large ash plume blowing northeast, then to the southeast and over the Atlantic Ocean. The went at least as high as six miles on June 4 when it erupted, according to CNN International. Some 3,500 people were evacuated.

3 satellites see eruption of Puyehue-Cordón volcano from space
This image of the eruption of the Puyehue-Cordón Caulle volcano (left center), Chile was captured by the GOES-13 Satellite on June 6 at 14:45 UTC (10:45 a.m. EDT). The plume is blowing northeast, then turns toward the southeast and over the Atlantic Ocean. Credit: NASA/NOAA GOES Project, Dennis Chesters

The Geostationary Operational Environmental Satellites called GOES-13 and GOES-11 also captured images of the volcano from a different vantage point in space that revealed the plume was visible from even farther away.

GOES-13 monitors the eastern U.S. and the Atlantic Ocean, while GOES-11 monitors the western U.S. and eastern Pacific Ocean. The GOES-11 image, taken from the farthest vantage point of any of the satellites, still showed the triangular-shaped plume, even from its position over the western U.S., despite the large distance.

Explore further: Synchronization of North Atlantic, North Pacific preceded abrupt warming, end of ice age

add to favorites email to friend print save as pdf

Related Stories

Recommended for you

Fires in Central Africa During July 2014

10 hours ago

Hundreds of fires covered central Africa in mid-July 2014, as the annual fire season continues across the region. Multiple red hotspots, which indicate areas of increased temperatures, are heavily sprinkled ...

NASA's HS3 mission spotlight: The HIRAD instrument

20 hours ago

The Hurricane Imaging Radiometer, known as HIRAD, will fly aboard one of two unmanned Global Hawk aircraft during NASA's Hurricane Severe Storm Sentinel or HS3 mission from Wallops beginning August 26 through ...

Fires in the Northern Territories July 2014

Jul 23, 2014

Environment Canada has issued a high health risk warning for Yellowknife and surrounding area because of heavy smoke in the region due to forest fires. In the image taken by the Aqua satellite, the smoke ...

User comments : 0