Possible first eastern Pacific tropical depression shaping up on NASA imagery

Jun 06, 2011

NASA's Aqua satellite flew over a low pressure system in the Eastern Pacific and captured infrared imagery that show it to be well-defined and organizing. System 91E is shaping up to likely become the Eastern Pacific's first tropical depression of the season.

Located about 425 miles south of Acapulco, Mexico, System 91E is in a good spot for development: warm and low wind shear. Those are two factors needed to help a tropical cyclone develop.

on June 5 at 19:47 UTC (3:47 p.m. EDT/12:47 PDT) from the AIRS instrument that flies aboard NASA's Aqua satellite showed a large area of strong convection and thunderstorms around the low-level circulation center ofSystem 91E.

The National Hurricane Center gives this low a 90 percent chance of development over the next two days, and if it becomes a tropical storm it would get the name Adrian.

Explore further: Supercomputer makes it possible to predict the evolution of the large-scale atmospheric circulation of tropical storms

add to favorites email to friend print save as pdf

Related Stories

NASA eyes low in eastern Pacific for tropical development

May 27, 2010

The Atmospheric Infrared Sounder instrument onboard NASA's Aqua satellite captured an infrared image of a low pressure area called "90E" in the Eastern Pacific that forecasters are watching for tropical development. ...

Recommended for you

Scientists stalk coastal killer

7 hours ago

For much of Wednesday, a small group of volunteers and researchers walked in and out of the surf testing a new form of surveillance on the biggest killer of beach swimmers - rip currents.

Fires in Central Africa During July 2014

20 hours ago

Hundreds of fires covered central Africa in mid-July 2014, as the annual fire season continues across the region. Multiple red hotspots, which indicate areas of increased temperatures, are heavily sprinkled ...

User comments : 0