Facebook users warned of 'likejacking' scam

Jun 01, 2010
Internet security firm Sophos has warned Facebook users to be on the alert for a scam which sends a spam message to all of their friends on the social network.

Internet security firm Sophos has warned Facebook users to be on the alert for a scam which sends a spam message to all of their friends on the social network.

Sophos, in a pair of blog posts late Monday, said "hundreds of thousands" of users have fallen for the which it dubbed "likejacking."

It said some Facebook users had received a message such as "This man takes a picture of himself EVERYDAY for 8 YEARS!!" and were encouraged to click on a link.

Sophos said clicking on the link takes a Facebook user to what appears to be a blank page with a "Click here to continue" message.

Sophos said clicking on the page publishes the original message on their own Facebook page with a "like" notation and recommends it to all of their Facebook friends.

"This of course posts a message to your newsfeed, your friends see it and click on it, and so it spreads," Sophos said.

Sophos warned last week about a Facebook scam designed to trick users into installing adware, a software package that automatically plays, displays or downloads advertisements to their computer.

That followed a similar scam that spread on Facebook the week before involving a fake posting tagged as the "sexiest video ever," according to Sophos.

Explore further: Snapchat deletes a distinctive feature and makes it easier to add friends

Related Stories

Facebook profiles to play up brand and band pages

Apr 19, 2010

(AP) -- Facebook is revamping users' profiles to emphasize the pages for bands, books and businesses that millions have become fans of on the world's largest online social network.

Recommended for you

User comments : 0

Please sign in to add a comment. Registration is free, and takes less than a minute. Read more

Click here to reset your password.
Sign in to get notified via email when new comments are made.