Facebook outlines new privacy policy

October 29, 2009
Facebook logo

Facebook outlined changes to its privacy policy on Thursday and asked for feedback from the social network's more than 300 million users.

Vice president of communications and public policy Elliot Schrage, in a post on the blog, said members will have until November 5 to send in their comments about the proposed changes.

"This is the next step in our ongoing effort to run Facebook in an open and transparent way," he said. "After the comment period is over, we'll review your feedback and update you on our next steps."

Some of the changes to Facebook's are the result of pressure from Canada, whose privacy czar conducted an investigation into its handling of personal information.

"In this revision," Schrage said, "we're fulfilling our commitment to the privacy commissioner of Canada to update our privacy policy to better describe a number of practices.

"Specifically, we've included sections that further explain the privacy setting you can choose to make your content viewable by everyone," he said.

Schrage said the changes also clarify the difference between deactivating and deleting an account and "the process of memorializing an account once we've received a report that the account holder is deceased."

Facebook said it will save profile information such as friend lists and photos from a deactivated account in case a member decides to reactivate it later but the material will not be viewable by other users.

It said a deleted account is "permanently deleted."

Facebook said information from a deleted account may still be viewable on the pages of other users if it was shared or copied and stored by them.

"However, your name will no longer be associated with that information on Facebook," it said, and will be attributed to an "anonymous Facebook user."

Facebook also stressed that is not provided to advertisers. "The information we provide to advertisers is 'anonymized,' meaning that it can't be traced back to you as an individual in any way," Schrage said.

(c) 2009 AFP

Explore further: Social networking sites 'keep deleted photos' - research

Related Stories

Facebook plans to simplify privacy settings

July 1, 2009

(AP) -- Facebook is overhauling its privacy controls over the next several weeks in an attempt to simplify its users' ability to control who sees the information they share on the site.

Social networking aggregator sues Facebook

July 10, 2009

(AP) -- In a counter-punch to the world's biggest online hangout, a small Web company called Power.com has sued Facebook, saying it doesn't follow its own policy of giving users control over their content.

Watchdog: Facebook violates Canadian privacy law

July 16, 2009

(AP) -- Canada's privacy commissioner says the online social networking site Facebook breaches Canadian law by keeping users personal information indefinitely after members close their accounts.

Recommended for you

Power grid forecasting tool reduces costly errors

July 30, 2015

Accurately forecasting future electricity needs is tricky, with sudden weather changes and other variables impacting projections minute by minute. Errors can have grave repercussions, from blackouts to high market costs. ...

Netherlands bank customers can get vocal on payments

August 1, 2015

Are some people fed up with remembering and using passwords and PINs to make it though the day? Those who have had enough would prefer to do without them. For mobile tasks that involve banking, though, it is obvious that ...

Microsoft describes hard-to-mimic authentication gesture

August 1, 2015

Photos. Messages. Bank account codes. And so much more—sit on a person's mobile device, and the question is, how to secure them without having to depend on lengthy password codes of letters and numbers. Vendors promoting ...

0 comments

Please sign in to add a comment. Registration is free, and takes less than a minute. Read more

Click here to reset your password.
Sign in to get notified via email when new comments are made.